MWC Announces Football All-Academic Team

Feb. 8, 2002


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The Mountain West Conference announced its All-Academic team for the 2001 football season. This year's squad is comprised of 88 student-athletes, including 44 repeat qualifiers which consists of 13 three-time honorees and 31 named for the second consecutive year.

The All-Academic team is highlighted by 14 players from the All-Mountain West first- and second-team squads, consisting of first-team selections Ryan Denney (BYU), Brandon Doman (BYU) Joey Huber (Colorado State) and Doug Jolley (BYU), in addition to second-teamers Ben Archibald (BYU), Casey Bramlet (Wyoming), Broc Finlayson (Colorado State), Jason Gallimore (Colorado State), Justin Gallimore (Colorado State), Joe Haro (UNLV), Eric Pauly (Colorado State), Antwoine Sanders (Utah), Brian Simnjanovski (San Diego State) and Drew Wood (Colorado State).

BYU and Colorado State each placed a conference-high 18 student-athletes on the All-Academic team, followed by Wyoming (13), New Mexico (12), Air Force (9), Utah and UNLV (8 each), and San Diego State (2).

To be eligible for selection student-athletes must have completed at least one academic term at the member institution while maintaining a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better and be a starter or significant contributor.

Attached (see PDF) is a list of the 2001 Football Academic All-Mountain West Conference selections grouped alphabetically by school (*notes repeat selection).