Academic All-MWC Football Team Announced

Feb. 12, 2004


Complete Release/Squad List in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The Mountain West Conference announced its All-Academic team for the 2003 football season. This year's squad is comprised of an all-time high, 100 student-athletes, including 50 repeat qualifiers consisting of 9 four-time honorees, 14 three-time selections and 27 named for the second year.

The Academic All-MWC team is highlighted by a conference-record nine, four-time members: Casey Adams (Wyoming), Casey Bramlet (Wyoming), Toby Christensen (BYU), Jacque Finn (Wyoming), Terrell Golden (New Mexico), Eric Pauly (Colorado State), Bryan Penley (New Mexico), Russell Sprague (Colorado State) and Drew Wood (Colorado State).

A total of nine players from the 2003 All-Mountain West Conference teams garnered academic honors, including first-team selections David Anderson (Colorado State) and Bryan Save (Colorado State). Second-team members included Joel Dreesseen (Colorado State), Mark Dreyer (Colorado State), Daniel Gawronski (New Mexico), Bo Nagahi (Utah), Dillon Pieffer (UNLV), Morgan Scalley (Utah) and Alex Smith (Utah).

BYU placed a conference-high 21 student-athletes on the Academic All-MWC team, followed by Colorado State and Utah (17 each), Wyoming (13), New Mexico (12), Air Force and UNLV (10 each).

To be eligible for selection student-athletes must have completed at least one academic term at the member institution while maintaining a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better and be a starter or significant contributor.