Three Wyoming Cowboys Named to the NFF 2008 Hampshire Honor Society Class

April 9, 2008


The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame (NFF) has announced its 2008 NFF Hampshire National Honor Society Class. This year's class includes three Wyoming senior football student-athletes -- Luke Chase, Sean Claffey and Brandon Haugen.

Requirements for the award are:
•Being a starter or significant contributor in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA or NAIA college or university;
•Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade-point average throughout one's entire course of undergraduate study; and
•Meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.

The Hampshire NFF National Honor Society was created in 2007 to honor college football student-athletes in all divisions. The Hampshire Foundation is the corporate sponsor of the team, and is the charitable arm of The Hampshire Companies, a privately-held real estate firm headquartered in Morristown, N.J.

Chase is a senior inside linebacker from Windsor, Colo., majoring in business management.

Claffey is a native of Fruita, Colo., and played outside linebacker for the Cowboys. Claffey is majoring in civil engineering.

Haugen is also a senior linebacker from Spokane, Wash., and studied geography at UW.

A total of 439 individuals from 226 schools were named to this year's second annual class, which was an increase of 25 percent from the 2007 inaugural class.

Wyoming was the only university in the Mountain West Conference to have multiple individuals named to this year's honor class. Six other MWC schools had one representative each on this year's team. Those six schools were; BYU, Colorado State, New Mexico, San Diego State, TCU and Utah.

Wyoming was one of only 15 NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision teams (formerly Division IA) to have at least three individuals named to the team. There were 119 NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) teams teams this past year.

Leading the way among NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision teams were: Bowling Green (6 honorees), Minnesota (6), Nebraska (4), Ohio State (4), Rice (4), Washington State (4), Wyoming (3), Baylor (3), Central Florida (3), Central Michigan (3), Colorado (3), Iowa (3), Tennessee (3), Wake Forest (3) and West Virginia (3).