Wyoming Head Football Coach Dave Christensen's Contract Extended

April 13, 2010

Laramie, Wyo. - University of Wyoming Athletics Director Tom Burman announced on Tuesday that the contract of head football coach Dave Christensen has been extended through 2014.

Christensen was originally announced as the head football coach of the Wyoming Cowboys on Dec. 1, 2008. His initial contract was for five years with a base salary of $180,000 per year. Academic, competitive and revenue incentives were written into Christensen's original contract to enhance his total package. With his one-year extension, Christensen is now under contract to UW until Dec. 31, 2014. His original annual base salary of $180,000 remains in place.

"In his first year, Coach (Dave) Christensen did an outstanding job of returning Wyoming Football to a competitive position in the Mountain West Conference," said Burman. "He led our football program to a winning record and a New Mexico Bowl victory, and it was evident by the large number of fans at the bowl game that he has reenergized our fan base.

"We are excited about the future of Cowboy Football and the leadership that Coach Christensen has provided, and we are pleased to announce this extension of his contract."

This past year, Christensen became only the second head football coach in University of Wyoming history to lead his team to a bowl game in his first season (the other being Paul Roach in 1987), and Christensen became the first Cowboy head coach to win a bowl game in his first season. His Cowboys defeated Fresno State 35-28 in double overtime in the 2009 New Mexico Bowl. Wyoming finished fifth in the 2009 Mountain West Conference standings, with a 7-6 overall record and a 4-4 MWC mark, after being picked to finish last (ninth) in the preseason media poll. Freshman quarterback Austyn Carta-Samuels was named MWC Freshman of the Year and the Offensive MVP of the New Mexico Bowl. Senior defensive end Mitch Unrein was named the Defensive MVP of the New Mexico Bowl, and a total of seven Cowboys earned All-Conference recognition, including first team selection John Fletcher.