Three Cowboys Named to the National Football Foundation's Inaugural National Honor Society Class

April 26, 2007


The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame (NFF) has announced its inaugural National Honor Society Class. The NFF National Honor Society was created this year to honor college football student-athletes in all divisions who had completed their last year of eligibility in the 2006 season, had achieved a 3.20 cumulative grade point average or better, and had made a significant contribution to their team on the field of competition.

The University of Wyoming had three student-athletes named to the Inaugural NFF National Honor Society Class. UW seniors Mike Groover, Tyler Holden and John Wendling all were named to the team.

Groover, a senior defensive tackle from Boulder, Colo., achieved a 3.44 cumulative average in kinesiology and health promotion.

Holden, a senior wide receiver from Littleton, Colo., compiled a 3.25 cumulative GPA in communication.

Wendling, a senior strong safety from Rock Springs, Wyo., built a 3.43 cumulative grade point average in business administration.

Wyoming was one of only 11 NCAA Bowl Subdivision teams (formerly Division IA) to have at least three individuals named to the team. There were 119 NCAA Bowl Subdivision teams (Division IA) last year. UW was one of only two Mountain West Conference schools to have multiple honorees. TCU was the other MWC school to have multiple selections. The Horned Frogs also had three individuals honored.

Leading the way among NCAA Bowl Subdivision teams were: Ball State (5 honorees), Nebraska (5), Army (4) and Ohio State (4). Wyoming and TCU were among seven other Division IA schools to each have three selections.

This year's inaugural class of the NFF National Honor Society consisted of 345 student-athletes from 195 different schools in all classifications -- NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division IA), NCAA Football Championship Subdivision (formerly Division IAA), NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and NAIA member institutions.

Earlier this year, Wendling was also one of the 17 national finalists for the NFF's highest student-athlete award, the Draddy Trophy, which honors one individual as the best in the country for his combined academic achievement, football performance and outstanding community leadership. The award is named for former NFF Chairman Vincent dePaul Draddy, a Manhattan College quarterback who founded Izod and Lacoste brand clothing.