Two Cowboys Named to 2016 NFF Hampshire Honor Society

April 27, 2016


NFF Full Release   Get Acrobat Reader

The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced on Wednesday its Hampshire Honor Society members for 2016, and two University of Wyoming senior football student-athletes Cameron Coffman and Rafe Kiely were named to the society.

This year marks the ninth year in the 10 years the Hampshire Honor Society has been in existence that UW has had at least one individual selected. It is the eighth time that Wyoming has had multiple honorees in the same year.

To qualify for selection to the Hampshire Honor Society, a college football player must achieve a minimum 3.20 cumulative grade point average, must meet all NCAA or NAIA progress toward degree requirements and must be a starter or significant contributor to their team in their final year of eligibility.

Coffman a quarterback from Peculiar, Mo., achieved a 3.27 cumulative grade-point average while earning his bachelor of arts in social science at Wyoming in December 2015. He earned Academic All-Mountain West Conference honors as a senior. Coffman was the Cowboys’ starting quarterback in 2015. He ranked No. 1 in the Mountain West Conference and No. 28 in the nation in passing efficiency, with a passer rating of 147.4. He also ranked No. 2 in the MW and No. 49 in the NCAA in passing yards per game (216.8 yards per game) and was No. 5 in the conference in total offense (203.7 yards per game).

Kiely, a center from Wheaton, Ill., was a semifinalist for the 2015 National Football Foundation’s William V. Campbell Trophy, which honors the premier college football scholar-athlete each year. Kiely was a three-time Academic All-Mountain West selection in 2013, ‘14 and ‘15. He earned a 3.43 cumulative grade-point average in marketing and management at UW, earning his bachelor of science degree in marketing in December 2014 and a second bachelor’s in management in December of 2015. During his Wyoming career, he started 18 of 33 career games.

Nominees from all levels of college football are eligible for the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, including: NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and the NAIA.

The two Cowboy seniors were among a total of 868 players from 275 schools to qualify for membership in the society’s 10th year, marking the highest number of players honored in a single year in the history of the program, which began in 2007. There are currently 775 colleges and universities across the nation with football programs.

The NFF Hampshire Honor Society was created in 2007 to honor college football student-athletes in all divisions. Jon F. Hanson, the chairman and founder of the Hampshire Companies, established an endowment to fund the NFF Hampshire Honor Society in `07. He was a former NFF Chairman from 1994-2006, and currently serves as NFF chairman emeritus.

A breakdown of the Cowboys inducted into the Society through the years follows:

Hampshire Honor Society Members From the University of Wyoming

2016: Cameron Coffman and Rafe Kiely

2015: Keenan Montgomery, Mark Nzeocha and Stuart Williams

2013: Luke Ruff and Oliver Schober

2012: Clayton Kirven

2011: Dax Crum, Chris Prosinski and Alex Toney

2010: Russ Arnold, Weston Johnson and Jesson Salyards

2009: Jake Edmunds, Michael Ray and Chris Sundberg

2008: Luke Chase, Sean Claffey and Brandon Haugen

2007: Mike Groover, Tyler Holden and John Wendling