Wyoming's Clayton Kirven Named to 2012 Hampshire Honor Society

May 3, 2012

LARAMIE, Wyo. - The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame (NFF) has announced its 2012 Hampshire Honor Society Class. This year's class includes one Wyoming Cowboy. University of Wyoming senior Clayton Kirven received the national honor for his academic and athletic accomplishments.

"This is a great honor for Clayton (Kirven)," said Wyoming head football coach Dave Christensen. "We are very proud of his hard work and his contributions to the success of our program through his time at the University of Wyoming. He represents what we want in all members of our team -- someone who achieves at a high level on and off the field."

"We want to congratulate Clayton (Kirven) on this accomplishment," said UW Athletics Director Tom Burman. "One of the great joys in our business is seeing our student-athletes achieve their goals athletically and academically. Not only is our department proud of Clayton's accomplishments, but I know the folks in his hometown of Buffalo (Wyoming) are very proud of what he has accomplished in representing the state of Wyoming.

"As another senior class gets ready to graduate this week at UW, we want to congratulate all of our Cowboy and Cowgirl student-athletes who are receiving their degrees this week, and wish them all the best in their futures."

Kirven received his bachelor's degree in kinesiology and health promotion from UW in August of 2011. He continued to take classes during the 2011 fall semester, while completing his final year of football eligibility at the University of Wyoming. He achieved a 3.23 cumulative-grade-point average in college, and earned Academic All-Mountain West honors four consecutive years. Kirven was named Second Team All-Mountain West as an offensive tackle this past season. He helped lead Wyoming to both the 2011 Gildan New Mexico Bowl and the 2009 New Mexico Bowl as a starting offensive tackle on both teams. Kirven concluded his career starting 45 of 49 career games as a Cowboy. In 2011, he was part of an offensive line unit that helped Wyoming rank No. 11 in the nation in fewest quarterback sacks allowed, giving up only 12 sacks in 13 games. This past spring, he was honored by the Wyoming Chapter of the National Football Foundation as one of its Scholar-Athlete Award winners for the state of Wyoming. He is the son of Tina and Larry Kirven.

Requirements for the award are:
•Being a starter or significant contributor in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA or NAIA college or university;
•Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade-point average throughout one's entire course of undergraduate study;
•Meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.

This year's Hampshire Honor Society class included a total of 721 student-athletes from 232 schools at all levels of college football. There are over 700 colleges and universities across the nation with football programs.

Kirven was one of only six Mountain West student-athletes to be named to the NFF Hampshire Honor Society this year, and he was one of only 152 Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) players to earn the award this year. There were 120 NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) teams this past season.

This year marks the sixth consecutive year, since the award was established, that the Wyoming Cowboys have had at least one individual selected to the NFF Hampshire Honor Society. In the first year of the awards in 2007, senior Cowboys Mike Groover, Tyler Holden and John Wendling were all named to the team. In 2008, former Cowboys Luke Chase, Sean Claffey and Brandon Haugen achieved their place in the Hampshire Honor Society. The spring of 2009 saw Cowboys Jake Edmunds, Michael Ray and Chris Sundberg be recognized. Seniors Russ Arnold, Weston Johnson and Jesson Salyards were honored in 2010. Last year, Cowboy seniors Dax Crum, Chris Prosinski and Alex Toney were named to the Hampshire Honor Society. The NFF Hampshire Honor Society was created in 2007 to honor college football student-athletes in all divisions. Jon F. Hanson, the chairman and founder of the Hampshire Companies, established an endowment to fund the NFF Hampshire Honor Society in `07. He was a former NFF Chairman from 1994-2006.