Wyoming Cowboys Earn Preseason Honors From Phil Steele's 2010 College Football Preview

May 20, 2010


  • Complete Team Listings in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

    The preseason college football awards have begun for the 2010 season. Phil Steele's 2010 College Football Preview magazine released its All-Mountain West Conference preseason selections, including 11 Wyoming Cowboys who were selected to one of four teams.

    The Cowboys who were named to Phil Steele's All-MWC First Team were junior middle linebacker Brian Hendricks and senior offensive guard Sam Sterner.

    The Second Team was dominated by four Cowboy defenders -- senior free safety Chris Prosinski, junior defensive end Gabe Knapton, junior cornerback Tashaun Gipson and sophomore strong safety Shamiel Gary. Also featured on the Second Team were senior wide receiver David Leonard, who was selected as both a Second Team receiver and punt returner, and junior punter Austin McCoy.

    Third Team selections included Wyoming senior cornerback Marcell Gipson and junior offensive tackle Clayton Kirven.

    The Fourth Team was led by sophomore quarterback Austyn Carta-Samuels and Marcell Gipson, who earned honors as a kick returner.

    The Wyoming Cowboys will kick off the 2010 season on Saturday, Sept. 4 versus Southern Utah in a game that will kick off at 7 p.m. in Wyoming's War Memorial Stadium.