Chukwurah Named To Bronko Nagurski Watch List

June 19, 2000


Wyoming senior PatrickChukwurah of Irving, Texas, has been named to the Mike Fox / Bronko NagurskiTrophy watch list for the 2000 college football season.

The Nagurski Trophy was created in 1993 by the Football WritersAssociation of America to honor the best defensive player in collegefootball. It is presented annually by the Charlotte Touchdown Club ofCharlotte, N.C.

The past winners have been: 1993, Rob Waldrop, Arizona, DL, 1994,Warren Sapp, Florida State, DT, 1995, Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern, LB,1996, Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern, LB, 1997, Charles Woodson, Michigan, CB,1998, Champ Bailey, Georgia, CB, 1999, Corey Moore, Virginia Tech, DE.

The 2000 recipient will be announced on Dec. 4, 2000, in Charlotte,N.C. Chukwurah is one of five Mountain West Conference players included inthe 38 national candidates. Below are the five MWC nominees.

2000 Bronko Nagurski Watch List Members from the Mountain West Conference
Patrick Chukwurah, Wyoming, LB
Rick Crowell, Colorado State, LB
Chris Hoke, BYU, DT
Jared Lee, BYU, S
Kautai Oleveo, Utah, LB