Mountain West Enters Into Agreement With New Orleans Bowl

June 20, 2001


The Mountain West Conference has entered into a one-year agreement to send a team to the inaugural New Orleans Bowl. The game will feature the third choice of the MWC against the champions of the Sun Belt Conference.

The New Orleans Bowl kicks off the 2001 bowl season on Tuesday, December 18. The game will be played in the Louisiana Superdome and televised nationally on ESPN2.

The Sun Belt Conference begins its first season competing at the I-A level. The Conference consists of: Arkansas State, Idaho, Louisiana-Lafayette, Louisiana-Monroe, Middle Tennessee, New Mexico State and North Texas.

The game is presented by the Greater New Orleans Sports Foundation.

The Mountain West Conference sends its champion to the AXA Liberty Bowl to face the champions of Conference USA and a second team to the Las Vegas Bowl vs. the sixth choice of the Pac-10.

Through its first two years, Mountain West Conference football has been an integral part of the post-season bowl landscape. Since the 1999 season, the league's first, the MWC has sent three teams each year and six total to bowl games.

Five of the eight teams comprising the Mountain West Conference have represented the league in the post-season, with MWC teams posting a 4-2 record.

The Mountain West became the only conference playing multiple bowl games last year to go undefeated, concluding the 2000 bowl season with a 3-0 mark.