UW's Alexander Named to Doak Walker Watch List

July 15, 2011

Laramie, Wyo.

Doak Walker Award Official Site

The Doak Walker Award, which annually honors the nation's top collegiate running back, has named Wyoming junior Alvester Alexander to its 2011 Watch List, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced today. A total of 51 student-athletes, including six from the Mountain West Conference, round out the preseason candidates.

A native of Houston, Texas, Alexander will be one of the top running backs in the MW this fall, after a solid sophomore campaign in which he earned Honorable Mention All-MW honors. He led the Cowboys with 792 rushing yards and 14 touchdowns on 189 carries while starting all 12 games. His 66.0 yards per game average ranked fifth in the MW and No. 80 in the nation, while his 7.0 points per game was also fifth in the conference and No. 74 nationally.

During the 2010 season, Alexander set new UW school records for rushing touchdowns in a season (14) and in a game (5). He saved his best performance for last, when he notched a school-record five touchdowns along with 147 rushing yards on 23 carries in UW's season-finale victory over Colorado State. The effort earned him MW Offensive Player of the Week.

Alexander enters the fall ready to write his name in the Cowboy record book. He's amassed 21 rushing touchdowns to rank No. 7 in school history and 1,432 career rushing yards to sit 585 yards short of UW's career Top 10.

The Doak Walker Award is in its 22nd year and is named for SMU's three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name the 2011 semifinalists on Nov. 11, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the finalists, who will be announced on Nov. 21. The committee will cast a second vote beginning on Nov. 28 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2011 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 8 on ESPN. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held at the Hilton Anatole Hotel in Dallas, Texas, in February 2012.