Wyoming's Dominic Rufran Named to Biletnikoff Award Watch List for Second-Consecutive Year

July 15, 2014


2014 Biletnikoff Award Watch List Get Acrobat Reader | Full Biletnikoff coverage | Purchase Season Tickets

The 2014 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List was released on Tuesday by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., and University of Wyoming senior wide receiver Dominic Rufran was one of 55 college receivers named to the list. I marked the second consecutive season that Rufran has been selected to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., is the Florida-based creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award. Each season since 1994, the Biletnikoff Award has been awarded to recognize the outstanding receiver in college football. One of the previous winners of the Biletnikoff Award was Wyoming Cowboy Marcus Harris in 1996.

The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of over 221 prominent college football journalists, commentators and former receivers. Receivers may be added to the watch list as their season performances dictate.

According to TQC Foundation Chairman Charles Hopkins, "Given the significant number of excellent college receivers playing this season, the race for the 2014 Biletnikoff Award will be the most entertaining and wide-open in many years."

Rufran led the Wyoming Cowboys in receptions (75) and receiving yards (960) as a junior in 2013. He fell just 40 yards shy of a 1,000-yard receiving season. The Colorado Springs native also caught eight touchdown passes in 2013. He recorded four 100-yard receiving games as a junior, including 120 at Nebraska, 117 at Air Force, 135 versus Colorado State and 121 against Hawai'i.

Rufran enters his senior season ranked No. 7 in school history in career receptions (158) and No. 10 in career receiving yards (1,891). His 15 career TD receptions ranks him No. 6 all-time in Wyoming school history.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. will announce the 10 Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 17, 2014, following the vote by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. The three finalists will be announced a week later on November 24, 2014.

The 2014 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 11, 2014, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast from 7:00 - 9:00 p.m., Eastern Time on ESPN.

The Biletnikoff Award winner will receive his trophy at the Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Saturday, February 7, 2015. The banquet was hailed by 2013 keynote speaker Larry Csonka as "the best banquet in college sports." Coaching great Dick Vermeil delivered the 2014 banquet's keynote address, following a tradition of distinguished keynoters like Bart Starr, Larry Csonka, Steve Largent, Mike Ditka, Don Shula, Dan Reeves, Archie Manning and Dan Fouts. The Foundation's scholarship recipients will also be recognized at the banquet, and will receive from the Foundation well over $900,000 in college scholarships. The Foundation's charitable mission is to provide college scholarships to North Florida high school seniors who have overcome significant barriers to achieve at the highest academic and extra-curricular levels.

The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was an All-Pro receiver with the Oakland Raiders and an All-America receiver at Florida State University. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Biletnikoff was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. created the Biletnikoff Award in 1994. Among the past college receivers who have won the award are: Marcus Harris of Wyoming; Marqise Lee of USC, Randy Moss of Marshall, Calvin Johnson of Georgia Tech, Michael Crabtree of Texas Tech, and Larry Fitzgerald of Pittsburgh.