Robert Herron Named to 2013 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List

July 16, 2013


Complete Release Get Acrobat Reader

The 2013 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List was released on Tuesday by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., and University of Wyoming senior wide receiver Robert Herron was one of the players selected. The Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., is the Florida-based creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award. Each season since 1994, the Biletnikoff Award has been awarded to recognize the outstanding receiver in college football. One of the previous winners of the Biletnikoff Award was Wyoming Cowboy Marcus Harris in 1996.

The award recipient is selected by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of over 200 prominent college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. Receivers may be added to the watch list as their season performances dictate. According to TQC Foundation Chairman Ritchie Pickron, "Given the significant number of outstanding college receivers playing in the 2013 season, the race for the Biletnikoff Award is wide open."

"We are extremely proud of Robert (Herron) for earning a spot on the Biletnikoff Watch List," said head coach Dave Christensen. "To be included among the top receivers in the country is a credit to his talent and hard work. He had a very good season last year, despite missing some games with an injury. He enters this season healthy, and we are expecting Robert to have a big year his senior season."

Herron was the only player in the Mountain West to post two receiving games of 150 yards or more in 2012. He caught five passes for 173 yards and two touchdowns in the season opener at Texas, and he had a career best 10 receptions for a career high 187 yards and two TDs versus San Diego State in the season finale.

A native of Los Angeles, Calif., where he played at Dorsey High School, Herron earned Honorable Mention All-Mountain West Conference honors as a junior in 2012. He had 31 receptions for 657 yards in only eight games a year ago, missing four games due to injury.

His exceptional speed allowed him to make several big plays his junior season, including an 82-yard catch and run for a touchdown at Texas, a 70-yard TD reception versus San Diego State and a 42-yard TD catch and run against SDSU.

Herron averaged a team high 82.1 yards receiving per game, and averaged a team high 21.2 yards per reception. He didn't play in the required 75 percent of games to qualify for conference and NCAA rankings, but if he would have played in one more game his 82.1 yard-per-game average would have been No. 2 in the Mountain West.

Herron had nine plays of 20 or more yards during the 2012 season, including: catches of 82, 45 and 22 yards at Texas; a 41-yard reception at Fresno State; an 81-yard reception at New Mexico; a 37-yard reception at UNLV; a 50-yard reception at UNLV; a 70-yard reception vs. San Diego State; and a 42-yard reception vs. SDSU.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. will announce the ten Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 18, 2013, following the vote by the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on November 25, 2013. For complete details and updates of interest, together with weekly statistics and news of the Biletnikoff Award candidates, please consult the Foundation website at

The 2013 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 12, 2013, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast from 7:00 - 9:00pm on ESPN.

The Biletnikoff Award winner will receive his trophy at the Biletnikoff Award Banquet at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Saturday, February 8, 2014. The banquet was hailed by 2013 keynote speaker Larry Csonka as "the best banquet in college sports." Coaching great Dick Vermeil will deliver the 2014 banquet's keynote address (following a tradition of distinguished keynoters like Bart Starr, Larry Csonka, Steve Largent, Mike Ditka, Don Shula, Dan Reeves, Archie Manning, and Dan Fouts) and recognize the Foundation's fifteen scholarship recipients who will receive from the Foundation well over $750,000 in college scholarships. The Foundation's charitable mission is to provide college scholarships to North Florida high school seniors who have overcome significant barriers to achieve at the highest academic and extra-curricular levels.

The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was an All-Pro receiver with the Oakland Raiders and an All-America receiver at Florida State University. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Biletnikoff was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc. created the Biletnikoff Award in 1994. Seventeen college receivers have won the award, including:Marcus Harris of Wyoming; Marqise Lee of USC, Randy Moss of Marshall, Calvin Johnson of Georgia Tech, Michael Crabtree of Texas Tech, and Larry Fitzgerald of Pittsburgh.

Foundation Selection Committee Co-Chairman and Founding Trustee Walter Manley, II, noted, "The 2013 Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List contains one of the most talented fields in the award's history, consistent with the escalating importance of the passing game in college football."

Selection Committee Co-Chairman Mark Haney, who has helped comprise preseason watch lists for over a decade, commented: "Receiver has become the glamour position in college offenses; the great athletes are gravitating to receiver which means the ranks of excellent college receivers continue to grow."

Herron is one of five Mountain West Conference receivers named to this year's Biletnikoff Watch List. The other four are: Davante Adams, So., Fresno State; Noel Grigsby, Sr., San Jose State; Matt Miller, Jr., Boise State; and Brandon Wimberly, Sr., Nevada. For a complete list of the honorees, click on the link above.