Seven Pokes Selected to the Preseason All-MWC Team

July 18, 2005

CORONADO, Calif. - The Mountain West Conference announced its 2005 preseason all-conference team today as selected by members of the league's media. DonTrell Moore (New Mexico) was named Preseason MWC Offensive Player of the Year, Steve Fifita (Utah) was selected Defensive Player of the Year and Nnamdi Ohaeri (Colorado State) was chosen Newcomer of the Year.

Moore was a first-team all-Conference selection in 2004 and finished second in the league in rushing with 1,091 yards in 11 games played. Moore has eclipsed the 1,000-yard rushing mark in each of the last three seasons and would become only the sixth player in NCAA history to rush for 1,000 yards in all four seasons if he can accomplish that feat again in 2005.

Fifita was an all-MWC first-team defensive lineman in 2004, collecting 45 tackles, nine tackles for loss and 4.5 sacks in 12 games played.

Ohaeri played defensive back and special teams for two seasons at UCLA, recording 33 tackles during his time with the Bruins. A four-year letterwinner at Aquinas High School in San Bernardino, Calif., he rushed for 2,155 yards and 24 touchdowns as a senior.

New Mexico's Moore and Utah's Fifita and Spencer Toone were the only unanimous choices among the league's media on the 2005 Preseason all-MWC Team.

Wyoming led all schools with seven student-athletes selected to the preseason all-Conference team, including all three specialists. New Mexico had five players selected, followed by BYU and Utah with four players each. Colorado State had two players named to the 2005 preseason all-Conference squad, while Air Force, SDSU, TCU and UNLV each had one.

The 2005 preseason team features 16 players that were all-Conference selections in 2004, including seven first-team selections. Sophomore running back Lynell Hamilton (San Diego State) also returns this season after missing all of 2004 due to an ankle injury. Hamilton was the 2003 MWC Freshman of the Year and was selected to the 2004 preseason all-Conference team before sitting out the year.

2005 MWC Preseason All-MWC Team

2005 Preseason All-Mountain West Team

OffenseWRTodd Watkins*Sr.BYUWRDavid Anderson**Sr.Colorado StateOLJon Wilson**SrAir ForceOLJake KuresaJr.BYUOLMichael BrisielSr.Colorado StateOLRyan Cook* Sr.New MexicoOLJesse Boone**Sr.UtahTEJohn Wadkowski**Sr.WyomingQBCorey BramletSr.WyomingRBDonTrell Moore*Sr.New MexicoRBLynell Hamilton#So.San Diego State

DefenseDLManaia BrownSr.BYUDLSteve Fifita*Sr.UtahDLMarcus Parker*Sr.New MexicoDLRanorris RaySr.TCUDLDusty Hoffschneider**Sr.WyomingLBSpencer TooneSr.UtahLBCameron JensenJr.BYULBMike MohoricSr.New MexicoDBGabriel Fulbright**Sr.New MexicoDBEric Weddle**Jr.UtahDBDerrick Martin**Jr.WyomingDBJoe Miklos Sr.UNLV

SpecialistsPAdam Brooks**Sr.WyomingPKDeric Yaussi*Sr.WyomingRet.Hoost Marsh*So.Wyoming

Offensive Player of the Year: DonTrell Moore, Sr., New MexicoDefensive Player of the Year: Steve Fifita, Sr. UtahNewcomer of the Year: Nnamdi Ohaeri, Jr., Colorado State

* member of the 2004 All-Mountain West Conference first-team.** member of the 2004 All-Mountain West Conference second-team.# member of the 2003 All- Mountain West Conference first-team - sat out 2004 due to injury.