Cowboys Dobbs, Fletcher and Moore Earn Preseason All-MWC Honors

July 21, 2008

LAS VEGAS - The Mountain West Conference announced its 2008 preseason all-conference team today as selected by members of the league's media. Three Wyoming Cowboys were named to the list; senior linebacker Ward Dobbs, junior defensive tackle John Fletcher and senior Devin Moore as a kick return specialist.

Dobbs earned Honorable Mention All-MWC honors in 2007 after leading the Cowboys with 98 tackles. He was a Second Team All-Conference selection following the 2006 season.

Fletcher earned Second Team All-MWC honors following last season after ranking No. 11 in the nation in sacks, with 10.5. He has also been named to the 2008 Outland Trophy Watch List.

Not only was Moore the Cowboys' leading rusher (965 yards) in 2007, but he also totaled 271 yards in kick returns and had one kick-off return for a touchdown.

Max Hall (BYU) was named Preseason MWC Offensive Player of the Year, Jason Phillips (TCU) was selected Preseason MWC Defensive Player of the Year, Louie Sakoda (Utah) was chosen Preseason MWC Special Teams Player of the Year and Braylon Broughton (TCU) was tabbed Preseason MWC Freshman of the Year.

The 2008 preseason team is loaded with experience, featuring 18 players that were all-Conference selections in 2007, including six first-team honorees. Fifteen seniors, eight juniors and two sophomores comprise the 25-member squad.

2008 Preseason All-Mountain West Football Team
Position Student-Athlete Class School
WR Austin Collie** Jr. BYU
WR Ryan Wolfe Jr. UNLV
OL Nick Charles** Jr. Air Force
OL Ray Feinga* Sr. BYU
OL Dallas Reynolds* Sr. BYU
OL Blake Schlueter** Sr. TCU
OL Robert Conley** Sr. Utah
TE Dennis Pitta* Jr. BYU
QB Max Hall* Jr. BYU
RB Harvey Unga** So. BYU
RB Rodney Ferguson* Sr. New Mexico
DL Jan Jorgensen* Jr. BYU
DL Paul Kruger So. Utah
DL John Fletcher** Jr. Wyoming
DL/LB Ryan Kemp Sr. Air Force
LB Ward Dobbs** Sr. Wyoming
LB Russell Allen Sr. San Diego State
LB Jason Phillips** Sr. TCU
DB Brice McCain** Sr. Utah
DB DeAndre Wright* Sr. New Mexico
DB Stephen Hodge** Sr. TCU
DB Robert Johnson Jr. Utah
P Louie Sakoda* Sr. Utah
PK Louie Sakoda** Sr. Utah
Ret. Devin Moore Sr. Wyoming
* member of the 2007 All-Mountain West Conference first-team.
** member of the 2007 All-Mountain West Conference second-team.
Offensive Player of the Year:
Max Hall, Jr., QB, BYU
Defensive Player of the Year:
Jason Phillips, Sr., LB, TCU
Special Teams Player of the Year:
Louie Sakoda, Sr., PK/P, Utah
Freshman of the Year:
Braylon Broughton, DE, TCU