Bouknight and Goldberg Represent Wyoming on MWC All-Decade Squad

July 22, 2008


The Mountain West Conference announced today its 10th Anniversary Football Team, as selected by a combined panel of media, institutional and conference personnel, as well as an on-line fan poll.

The University of Wyoming Cowboys were represented on the squad by former wide receiver Jovon Bouknight (2002-05) and offensive lineman Adam Goldberg (1999-2002).

In order to be eligible for consideration, candidates must have been a First Team All-Mountain West selection at least once in their careers.

Anniversary teams will be chosen for each of the 19 conference-sponsored sports during the 2008-09 seasons in celebration of the Mountain West's 10th anniversary.

The announcement of the All-Decade team for football coincides with the 2008 MWC Media Days held July 20-22 in Las Vegas, Nev.

Jovon Bouknight was one of the best big play-makers in UW history from 2002-2005.

Bouknight concluded his UW career ranked No. 20 in NCAA history in both career receiving yards (3,626) and career receptions (250). His senior season, he was a semifinalist for the Biletnikoff Award, and also earned Honorable Mention All-America honors from College Football News. He earned First Team All-MWC honors as a senior. Bouknight concluded his career ranked No. 2 in MWC history in both receptions (250) and receiving yards (3,626). In Wyoming school history, Bouknight ranks No. 3 in career receiving yards, No. 2 in school history in career receptions and is UW's all-time all-purpose yardage leader (5,921 all-purpose yards), as well as career kickoff return leader (2,016 kickoff-return yards). He caught at least one pass in 47 consecutive games, which is the UW school record. Bouknight is currently a member of the Wyoming coaching staff as the offensive graduate assistant.

Goldberg was named First Team All-MWC after his junior and senior seasons (2001 and 2002) by the MWC Coaches. He was also named First Team All-MWC following his final year by the MWC Media and Football News and he represented UW at the post-season Rotary Gridiron Classic. Goldberg was a four-year starter for the Cowboys on the offensive line and his final two seasons he started at the important left tackle position, protecting the quarterback's back-side. He started all 44 career games he played in at UW. The only game he missed during his career was due to mononucleosis in the 2001 season opener against Furman. Goldberg signed with the Minnesota Vikings after finishing his career at UW. He played with the Vikings from 2003-06 and is currently on the St. Louis Rams roster.

The MountainWest Sports Network - Mtn. will broadcast a series of special presentations highlighting the 10th anniversary of the Mountain West Conference. The football team announcement debuts at 11 a.m. PT today, with an encore presentation at 7 p.m. PT. The announcement of the volleyball, soccer, and men's and women's cross country 10th anniversary teams will follow at 7:30 p.m. PT. Interviews with coaches and several of the respective honorees will be part of each 30-minute show.

Mountain West Football 10th Anniversary Team
Position Player School Years Played in MWC All-Conference
Quarterback: Alex Smith Utah 2002-04 2004
Running Backs: Luke Staley
DonTrell Moore
New Mexico
2002, 2003, 2004, 2005
Wide Receivers: David Anderson
Jovon Bouknight
Colorado State
Tight End: Jonny Harline BYU 2004-06 2005, 2006
Offensive Line: Ryan Cook New Mexico 2002-05 2003, 2004, 2005
Offensive Line: Doug Kaufusi Utah 1999-01 2000, 2001
Offensive Line: Jordan Gross Utah 1999-02 2002
Offensive Line: Erik Pears Colorado State 2001-04 2003, 2004
Offensive Line: Adam Goldberg Wyoming 1999-02 2001, 2002
Place Kicker: John Sullivan New Mexico 2004-07 2007
Defensive Line: Kabeer Gbaja-Biamila San Diego State 1999 1999
Defensive Line: Chase Ortiz TCU 2005-07 2005, 2006, 2007
Defensive Line: Brady Poppinga BYU 2001-04 2002, 2003, 2004
Defensive Line: Steve Fifita Utah 2002-05 2004, 2005
LineBacker: Rob Morris BYU 1999 1999
LineBacker: Beau Bell UNLV 2004-07 2007
Linebacker Kirk Morrison San Diego State 2001-04 2002, 2003, 2004
Linebacker: Beau Bell UNLV 2004-07 2007
Defensive Back: Brian Urlacher New Mexico 1999 1999
Defensive Back: Eric Weddle Utah 2003-06 2005, 2006
Defensive Back: Jamaal Brimmer UNLV 2001-04 2002, 2003, 2004
Defensive Back: Will Demps San Diego State 1999-01 2000, 2001
Punter: Matt Payne BYU 2001-04 2002, 2003, 2004
Punt/Kick Returner: Dexter Wynn Colorado State 2000-03 2002, 2003