Yarbrough Tabbed For Mountain West Preseason Team

July 22, 2014

LAS VEGAS - A University of Wyoming football standout was selected to the 2014 Mountain West Preseason Team, as junior Eddie Yarbrough occupied a place among league peers when the squad was announced Tuesday by the conference.

Selected by members of the media, the preseason squad comprises 25 honorees. Yarbrough made his first MW Preseason Team after being a First Team All-MW performer in 2013. Over 12 games last year, he tallied 89 tackles from his defensive end post and posted a team-high 6.5 sacks, 12 tackles for loss, two forced fumbles, two fumble recoveries and one pass deflection.

Yarbrough is the first UW player selected to the Preseason All-MW team since 2012, when former Cowboy Nick Carlson, Mike Purcell and Luke Ruff made the team. No Pokes were featured on the 2013 preseason team.

The conference also announced the preseason team polls Tuesday. UW was picked to finish fourth in the Mountain Division of the MW in the poll of conference media members. Wyoming totaled 90 points in the voting, trailing Boise State (183), Utah State (176) and Colorado State with 135. New Mexico (56) was selected to finish fifth in the Mountain Division and Air Force was picked sixth (53).

This marks the second season of divisional play for the conference, which moved to the two, six-team divisional format in 2013 following the additions of San José State and Utah State. The Mountain Division is comprised of Air Force, Boise State, Colorado State, New Mexico, Utah State and Wyoming, while Fresno State, Hawai`i, Nevada, San Diego State, San José State and UNLV make up the West Division. The two divisional winners will meet in the MW Championship Game on Dec. 6, 2014, at the home stadium of the divisional champion with the highest College Football Playoff Committee ranking. In a poll separated by just two points, Fresno State was picked to win the West Division over second-place San Diego State.

Wyoming opens the regular season versus Montana on Aug. 30.

2014 MW Preseason Team Poll
Mountain Division
(First-place votes ) / Points
1. Boise State (20) / 183
2. Utah State (12) / 176
3. Colorado State (1) / 135
4. Wyoming / 90
5. New Mexico / 56
6. Air Force / 53

West Division
(First-place votes) / Points
1. Fresno State (15) / 174
2. San Diego State (15)/ 172
3. Nevada (3) / 130
4. UNLV / 95
5. San José State / 87
6. Hawai`i / 35

2014 Mountain West Football Preseason All-Conference Team
QB - Chuckie Keeton - Utah State
WR - Matt Miller - Boise State
WR - Devante Davis - UNLV
RB - Jay Ajayi - Boise State
RB - Donnel Pumphrey - San Diego State
OL - Ty Sambrailo - Colorado State
OL - Cody Wichmann - Fresno State
OL - LaMar Bratton - New Mexico
OL - Brett Boyko - UNLV
OL - Robert Waterman - UNLV
TE - Kivon Cartwright - Colorado State

DL - Tyeler Davison - Fresno State
DL - Brock Hekking - Nevada
DL - B.J. Larsen - Utah State
DL - Eddie Yarbrough - Wyoming
LB - Ejiro Ederaine - Fresno State
LB - Kyler Fackrell - Utah State
LB - Zach Vigil - Utah State
DB - Donte Deayon - Boise State
DB - Jeremy Ioane - Boise State
DB - Derron Smith - Fresno State
DB - J.J. Whittaker - San Diego State

P - Garrett Swanson - Fresno State
PK - Jared Roberts - Colorado State
Ret. - Carlos Wiggins - New Mexico

Preseason Offensive Player of the Year: Chuckie Keeton, Sr., QB, Utah State
Preseason Defensive Player of the Year: Derron Smith, Sr., DB, Fresno State
Preseason Special Teams Player of the Year: Carlos Wiggins, Jr., KR, New Mexico