Three Cowboys Earn Preseason All-MW Accolades

July 24, 2012


MW Preseason Team Poll Get Acrobat Reader | Preseason All-MW Team Get Acrobat Reader | Press Conference Video

Three University of Wyoming student-athletes were named to the 2012 Mountain West Football Preseason All-Conference Team, announced Tuesday by the league.

The selections were announced as part of MW Media Days, hosted by the Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas. Each of the UW selections is a senior and includes offensive center Nick Carlson, defensive tackle Mike Purcell and free safety Luke Ruff. Both Carlson and Ruff were 2011 All-MW Second Team selections. Ruff was second on the team last season with 102 tackles in 13 games, while Purcell had 48 stops and two blocked kicks. Carlson has started 33 of his 34 career games.

The entire MW preseason team, as selected by members of the media, comprises 25 honorees. The Preseason MW Offensive Player of the Year was Fresno State junior quarterback Derek Carr, San Diego State senior defensive back Leon McFadden was the Preseason Defensive Player of the Year and Boise State redshirt senior return specialist Mitch Burroughs was the Preseason Special Teams Player of the Year.

In the preseason team poll, the Cowboys were picked to finish fourth out of 10 teams. UW garnered 213 points to trail only Boise State (296), Nevada (244) and Fresno State with 231 points. Nevada, Fresno State and Hawai`i will begin their first season competing in the MW in 2012.

Wyoming ended its 2011 season 8-5 overall and 5-2 in the Mountain West. It was UW's first eight-win season since 1998. The Cowboys' five conference wins and second-place finish in the Mountain West tied for their best finish since joining the conference in 1999.

2012 MW Preseason Team Poll

Rank / Team (first-place votes) / Points
1. / Boise State (27) / 296
2. / Nevada / 244
3. / Fresno State (2) / 231
4. / Wyoming / 213
5. / San Diego State (1) / 173
6. / Air Force / 170
7. / Hawai`i / 116
8. / Colorado State / 111
9. / UNLV / 63
10. / New Mexico / 33