Wyoming Football Opens Christensen Era Saturday Versus Weber State

Sept. 1, 2009


Wyoming Game Notes in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The Wyoming Cowboys will open the Dave Christensen era on Saturday, Sept. 5 when they host the Weber State Wildcats in War Memorial Stadium in Laramie. The game is scheduled to kick off at 1 p.m. , Mountain Time. There is no TV coverage of Saturday's game.

Christensen will be coaching his first game as a head coach after 24 very successful years as an assistant coach - most recently as offensive coordinator at Missouri. His Cowboys will be led by a Wyoming defense that returns eight starters from a unit that ranked 38th in the nation and third in the Mountain West Conference in total defense a year ago. That defensive unit is led by three Pokes who earned All-Conference accolades in 2008. Senior defensive tackle John Fletcher was a Second Team All-MWC selection last year, while senior defensive end Mitch Unrein and junior free safety Chris Prosinski were Honorable Mention All-Conference selections.

Offensively, the Cowboys will be led by junior quarterback Robert Benjamin, who is in his first year with the Cowboys after transferring from Phoenix (Community) College in Phoenix, Ariz. Benjamin was named the Cowboys' starting quarterback on Monday.

Weber State is coached by former Utah head coach Ron McBride. His Weber State Wildcats advanced to the second round of the 2008 NCAA Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) Playoffs, and are ranked No. 9 in the nation in the FCS Football Coaches' Association Preseason Poll.

They have two offensive performers who are on the Walter Payton Preseason Watch List, which honors the nation's top player at the FCS level each year. The two Wildcat players on that preseason list are junior quarterback Cameron Higgins and Weber State's all-time leading rusher, senior running back Trevyn Smith.

On defense, Weber State is led by senior cornerback Josh Morris who has been named to the 2009 Buck Buchanan Award Watch List. The Buchanan Award is given to the top FCS defensive player in the nation at the conclusion of each season.

Wyoming leads the overall series against Weber State, having won both previous meetings in 1999 (41-16) and in 1990 (21-12).