Ryan McGuffey Named to 2001 Biletnikoff Watch List

Sept. 6, 2001


University of Wyoming sophomore receiver Ryan McGuffey has been named to the 2001 FredBiletnikoff Award Watch List. McGuffey is one of only 29 receivers nationally to be named to the list. The Biletnikoff Award is presentedannually to the top receiver in college football.

McGuffey set new freshman receiving records at the University of Wyoming a year ago. He caught 63 passes for 696 yards -- both UWfreshman records. The Sporting News named him a Second Team Freshman All-American in 2000. He opened the 2001 season last week,catching 10 passes for 134 yards. He enters this week ranked No. 2 in the nation in receptions for the 2001 season and No. 9 in the country inreceiving yards.

McGuffey is the only receiver from the Mountain West Conference to make the Biletnikoff list this season.

In 1996, University of Wyoming senior Marcus Harris was selected the winner of the Biletnikoff Award.

The Quarterback Club of Tallahassee, Fla., sponsors the trophy, which was first presented in 1994. The award is named after formerFlorida State and Oakland Raider great Fred Biletnikoff. Biletnikoff is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame and the Pro FootballHall of Fame.

Below are the 29 receivers named to the 2001 Biletnikoff Watch List.

Player            School

Ryan McGuffey     WyomingAntrews Bell      Florida StateDeion Branch      LouisvilleAntonio Bryant    PittsburghReche Caldwell    FloridaKelly Campbell    Georgia TechAntonio Carter    AlabamaAndre Davis       Virginia TechTerrence Edwards  GeorgiaTodd Elstrom      WashingtonCurtis Fagan      OklahomaJabar Gaffney     FloridaKeenan Howry      OregonB.J. Johnson      TexasRon Johnson       MinnesotaDaryl Jones       MiamiKareem Kelly      USCAaron Lockett     Kansas StateLee Mays          UTEPFreddie Millons   AlabamaJohn Minardi      ColoradoBrian Poli-Dixon  UCLAJosh Reed         LSUAntwone Savage    OklahomaDonald Shoals     TulsaDonte' Stallworth TennesseeJohn Standeford   PurdueMarquise Walker   MichiganRoy Williams      Texas