UW's Woodward Named One of 31 Finalists for the 2010 NFF High School National Scholar-Athlete Awards

Sept. 22, 2010

DALLAS, Texas -

The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced today the names of the 31 finalists for the 2010 NFF High School National Scholar-Athlete Awards, which will honor one young man from each of the country's five regions as the best and the brightest for their accomplishments as athletes, scholars and citizens at the high school level. The five winners, who are now playing college football but are being recognized for their previous accomplishments in high school, will be announced the week of October 4.

Among the finalists is Austin Woodward, who played his high school football at Sheridan High School in Sheridan, Wyo. Woodward is one of 10 West Region finalists vying for the award. He currently is a freshman on the University of Wyoming Football team.

Current University of Wyoming starting free safety Chris Prosinski was the NFF High School Scholar-Athlete West Region winner back in 2006. Prosinski is now a senior on the University of Wyoming Football team.

"We take great pride in the work of the NFF Chapter Network," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "Each year our chapters honor thousands of student-athletes who have excelled in all aspects of their lives. It is our responsibility to shine a light on their amazing efforts by providing national recognition to the best of the best in the nation at the high school level."

With 120 chapters and more than 12,000 members, the NFF Chapter Network impacts more than 400,000 student-athletes at 4,800 high schools in 47 states each year. The centerpiece of their efforts are the annual chapter awards banquets, which recognize more than 3,300 of the nation's top scholar-athletes and distribute $1 million in scholarships. From this pool of 3,300 scholar-athletes, the chapters have nominated 31 individuals in 2010 as finalists for the highly sought-after NFF High School National Scholar-Athlete Awards. During the week of October 4, a national committee will select and announce the five winners, one from each region, of the 2010 NFF High School National Scholar-Athlete Awards.

The five winners will travel to New York City to be honored during the NFF Chapter Awards Luncheon, presented by Sprinturf, on Tuesday, December 7, 2010, at the Waldorf-Astoria. First bestowed in 1991, the NFF National High School Scholar-Athlete Award has become one of the most prestigious high school honors in the country. Criteria for the award include but are not limited to academic achievement, athletic accolades and community involvement.


  • Andrew Berg from Los Gatos High School in Los Gatos, Calif. Nominated by the NFF Northern California Chapter and currently attending Harvard University.
  • Jackson Cummings from Rocklin High School in Rocklin, Calif. Nominated by the NFF Sacramento Chapter and currently attending Stanford University.
  • Hunter Foraker from Mullen High School in Denver, Colo. Nominated by the NFF Colorado Chapter and currently attending Dartmouth College.
  • Tevin Hood from Hamilton High School in Chandler, Ariz. Nominated by the NFF Valley of the Sun (Ariz.) Chapter and currently attending Duke University.
  • Matthew Martindale from Laguna Hills High School in Laguna Hills, Calif. Nominated by the NFF Orange County (Calif.) Chapter and currently attending Harvard University.
  • Matt Miller from Capital High School in Helena, Mont. Nominated by the NFF Montana Chapter and currently attending Boise State University.
  • Elijah Mitchell from Desert Oasis High School in Las Vegas, Nev. Nominated by the NFF Bill Ireland/Las Vegas Chapter and currently attending Princeton University.
  • Earnest Sayles III from Santiago High School in Corona, Calif. Nominated by the NFF Riverside (Calif.) Chapter and currently attending UC-Davis.
  • Pete Thomas from Valhalla High School in El Cajon, Calf. Nominated by the NFF Walter Zable/San Diego Chapter and currently attending Colorado State University.
  • Austin Woodward from Sheridan High School in Sheridan, Wyo. Nominated by the NFF Wyoming Chapter and currently attending the University of Wyoming.

    During the past 19 years, 81 student-athletes have been recognized as NFF High School National Scholar-Athletes, and this year will mark the 20th class of honorees. Recent recipients include Andrew Luck (2008, starting quarterback at Stanford), Andrew Rodriquez (2008, a starting linebacker at Army) and Bryant Browning (2006, a starting offensive tackle at Ohio State).

    Other notable past recipients include Todd Helton (1992, former Tennessee quarterback and current Colorado Rockies first baseman), Jon Stinchcomb (1998, a former Georgia offensive tackle and currently with the NFL New Orleans Saints), Drew Henson (1998, a former Michigan quarterback and professional football and baseball player), and Bobby Hoying (1991, a former Ohio State quarterback and winner of the 1995 William V. Campbell Trophy).

    Four NFF High School National Scholar-Athletes have gone on to win NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards for their accomplishments in college. They are Bobby Hoying (1991, Ohio State and 1995 William V. Campbell Trophy winner), Eion Hu (1993, Harvard), Giovanni Carmazzi (1995, University of Pacific/Hofstra), and Jon Stinchcomb (1998, Georgia).

    For tickets to the Dec. 7 luncheon in New York, please contact Ron Dilatush at rdilatush@footballfoundation.com or by calling 972-556-1000.