Manning Award Names Wyoming's Brett Smith One of Eight Stars of the Week

Sept. 23, 2013


Manning Award Voting | Manning Award Website

The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, named Wyoming quarterback Brett Smith one of its eight national "Stars of the Week" on Monday, following the junior QB's record-setting performance versus Air Force last Saturday.

Smith set a University of Wyoming single-game record with 511 yards of total offense against the Falcons. His performance ranks as the second best total offense performance in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) this season. Only Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel, who had 562 yards of total offense versus Alabama earlier this year, accounted for more yards in a single game in 2013. To vote for Smith, click on the link at the top of this story.

The Manning Award allows college football fans to vote for its Manning Award Player of the Week by going to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page. When voting closes on Thursday at 10 a.m., Mountain Time, the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Player of the Week.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

This week's eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:
Brett Smith, Wyoming
Terrance Broadway, UL-Lafayette
Derek Carr, Fresno State
Sean Mannion, Oregon State
Aaron Murray, Georgia
Gary Nova, Rutgers
Bryce Petty, Baylor
Tom Savage, Pittsburgh

Smith was one of 30 quarterbacks named to the 2013 Manning Award Preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. The 10 finalists for the honor will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 27 and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the BCS National Championship game on Monday, Jan. 6. This year marks the 10th year of the Manning Award.