Tanner Gentry Added to Biletnikoff Award Watch List

Sept. 29, 2015


Wyoming junior wide receiver Tanner Gentry has been added to the 2015 Biletnikoff Award watch list. The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award, made the announcement on Tuesday. The Biletnikoff Award is presented annually to the college football season's outstanding receiver.

Gentry was one of 15 receivers nationally to be added on Tuesday to the original list of 48 candidates. He is currently leading the Mountain West Conference and is ranked 15th in the nation in receiving yards, averaging 109.8 yards per game. The junior from Aurora, Colo., has caught 26 passes for 439 yards through the first four games of the 2015 season. His 439 yards ranks No. 12 in the NCAA this season in total receiving yards. He also ranks in the Top 25 in the nation in receptions (6.5 per game to rank 22nd) and touchdown receptions (3 total to rank 25th). Gentry is Wyoming's starting punt returner in addition to being its top receiver. He is averaging 10.2 yards per punt return to rank No. 37 in the nation, and he is averaging 130.2 all-purpose yards to rank No. 2 in the Mountain West and No. 45 in the country. Gentry has recorded three 100-yard receiving games through the first four games of this season. He had 176 yards vs. North Dakota, 127 at Washington State and 130 vs. New Mexico. This is the first time in his career that Gentry has been named to the Biletnikoff Award watch list.

On Oct. 1, the Biletnikoff Award will open its online FanVote. Here is the link to the Voting criteria.  Every fan may vote once daily on the Biletnikoff Award FanVote page. The aggregate fan tally will be counted as one official vote to determine semi-finalists (10 receivers), finalists (three) and the winner.

The Biletnikoff Award was founded in 1994 and is a season, not career, award. Former University of Wyoming Cowboy Marcus Harris was the recipient of the award for the 1996 season.

This 2015 Biletnikoff Award will be announced live by 1991 Heisman Trophy winner and former receiver Desmond Howard on Dec. 10, 2015, on ESPN's The Home Depot College Awards Show at 5 p.m., M.T., from the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Ga.

The recipient will receive his trophy at the Biletnikoff Award banquet on Jan. 30, 2016, at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee, Fla. NFL Hall of Fame wide receiver Fred Biletnikoff, for whom the award is named, will present the winner with his trophy at the banquet along with keynote speaker Bob Griese. Biletnikoff and Griese will also recognize the Foundation's 2016 scholarship recipients, who annually receive $900,000 in college and vocational school scholarships and benefits.