Wyoming's Chris Prosinski Named a Semifinalist for the NFF William V. Campbell Trophy

Sept. 30, 2010


On Thursday, the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced the semifinalists for the 2010 William V. Campbell Trophy, which honors college football's top scholar-athlete each year. One of the semifinalists is University of Wyoming senior free safety Chris Prosinski.

Prosinski was named one of 121 semifinalists selected this year from all levels of college football -- NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and NAIA. Of the 121 semifinalists, Prosinski was one of only 47 student-athletes selected from NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision schools.

Following his senior year of high school, Prosinski was selected as one of five high school football players in the nation in to be named an NFF High School Scholar-Athlete. He was the West Region winner in `06.

In this year's class of semifinalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy, Prosinski is joined by one other former NFF High School Scholar-Athlete in the group contending for the Campbell Trophy. The other is Ohio State offensive guard Bryant Browning.

The William V. Campbell Trophy was previously named the Draddy Trophy, and is commonly referred to as the "Academic Heisman". To qualify for nomination, a student-athlete must be in their final year of college eligibility and have earned a 3.2 cumulative grade-point average or higher on a 4.0 scale. Nominees must also have outstanding football ability and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship.

The NFF will select up to 15 finalists for the award. That selection will be announced on Thursday, Oct. 28. Finalists will each receive an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship. The 2010 Campbell Trophy winner will receive a scholarship of $25,000 and a 25-pound bronze trophy. This year's Campbell Trophy winner will be announced at the annual NFF Awards Dinner on Dec. 7 at the Waldorf-Astoria in New York City.

The University of Wyoming has had four football student-athletes selected as finalists and earn post-graduate scholarships through the years. Those previous four Cowboys were: Pat Smyth in 1959, Marty Eliopulos in 1986, Trenton Franz in 2004 and John Wendling in 2006.