Wyoming's Julius Stinson Added to 2007 Thorpe Award Watch List

Oct. 22, 2007


The Jim Thorpe Award Screening Committee in Oklahoma City has announced five additions to the 2007 Watch List. The award is given annually to the nation's best college defensive back. Senior Wyoming Cowboy cornerback Julius Stinson was one of the five players added for consideration for the award.

The list will be narrowed on November 19, to three finalists who will be invited to the nationally telecast ESPN College Football Awards Show on December 6. The winner will be announced on the show and the official presentation will be at a formal banquet in Oklahoma City on February 12, 2008.

The 2007 award marks the 21st anniversary of the trophy, first presented in 1986 to Baylor's Thomas Everett. Everett and Miami's Bennie Blades, the second Thorpe Award winner, were inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame last year.

Thorpe Award winners are selected for performance on the field, athletic ability and character. Last year's winner was Texas University standout Aaron Ross, now playing for the New York Giants.

The new players added to the 2007 list are:

Trey Brown, Sr.,UCLA
Troy Nolan, Jr., Arizona State
Jamie Silva, Sr., Boston College
Craig Steltz, Sr., LSU
Julius Stinson, Sr. Wyoming

The Thorpe Award preseason Watch List is determined according to a point system based on preseason All-American teams. Nolan, Silva, Steltz and Stinson have been named to midseason All-American teams. Brown was included on the Watch List for outstanding performance during the first half of the season.