Brian Hill Added to 2015 Doak Walker Award Watch List

Oct. 28, 2015

LARAMIE, Wyo. - University of Wyoming sophomore running back Brian Hill on Wednesday was added by the The PwC SMU Athletic Forum to the 2015 Doak Walker Award Watch List. The award is presented annually to the nation’s top college running back.

Hill, who currently ranks No. 4 in the nation in rushing yards with 1,061 yards on the season, joins four other individuals to be added to the 2015 Watch List. The four other players who were added were: Dalvin Cook (So., Florida State), Tyler Ervin (Sr., San Jose State), C.J. Prosise (Sr., Notre Dame) and Mike Warren (Fr., Iowa State).

Hill also joins Cowboy teammate Shaun Wick, who was named to the original Doak Walker Watch List earlier in the year. Wick was injured earlier this season and is still out due to injury.

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name ten semifinalists on November 18, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the three finalists, which will be announced on November 24. The committee will cast a second vote beginning November 30 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of past recipients, former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2015 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 10, on ESPN. The Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet will be held in Dallas on February 19, 2016.

The award, which will name its 26th recipient in 2015, is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.


Leon Allen (Sr.), Western Kentucky

Devontae Booker (Sr.), Utah

Matt Breida (Jr.), Georgia Southern

Brandon Burks (Sr.), Troy

Jordan Canzeri (Sr.), Iowa

Tra Carson (Sr.), Texas A&M

Nick Chubb (So.), Georgia

Corey Clement (Jr.), Wisconsin

Alex Collins (Jr.), Arkansas

James Conner (Jr.), Pittsburgh

Dalvin Cook (So.), Florida State

Marcus Cox (Jr.), Appalachian State

Justin Davis (Jr.), USC

Matt Dayes (Jr.), North Carolina State

Kenneth Dixon (Sr.), Louisiana Tech

Ezekiel Elliott (Jr.), Ohio State

Tyler Ervin (Sr.), San Jose State

Kenneth Farrow (Sr.), Houston

Josh Ferguson (Sr.), Illinois

Tarean Folston (Jr.), Notre Dame

Leonard Fournette (So.), LSU

Jarvion Franklin (So.), Western Michigan

Royce Freeman (So.), Oregon

Wayne Gallman (So.), Clemson

Michael Gordon (Sr.), Arkansas State

Johnathan Gray (Sr.), Texas

Aaron Green (Sr.), TCU

Travis Greene (Sr.), Bowling Green

Russell Hansbrough (Sr.), Missouri

Derrick Henry (Jr.), Alabama

Brian Hill (So.), Wyoming

Jon Hilliman (So.), Boston College

Jordan Howard (Jr.), Indiana

Kareem Hunt (Jr.), Toledo

LaJuan Hunt (So.), Utah State

Darius Jackson (Sr.), Eastern Michigan

Don Jackson (Sr.), Nevada

Justin Jackson (So.), Northwestern

Paul James (Sr.), Rutgers

Devon Johnson (Sr.), Marshall

Aaron Jones (Jr.), UTEP

Daniel Lasco (Sr.), California

Ray Lawry (So.), Old Dominion

Shock Linwood (Jr.), Baylor

Robert Lowe (Sr.), Texas State

Akeel Lynch (Jr.), Penn State

Marlon Mack (So.), South Florida

Tre Madden (Sr.), USC

Christian McCaffrey (So.), Stanford

Elijah McGuire (Jr.), Louisiana-Lafayette

Samaje Perine (So.), Oklahoma

Paul Perkins (Jr.), UCLA

Christian Powell (Sr.), Colorado

Shaquille Powell (Sr.), Duke

C.J. Prosise (Sr.), Notre Dame

Donnel Pumphrey (Jr.), San Diego State

Demario Richard (So.), Arizona State

Ashton Shumpert (Jr.), Mississippi State

William Stanback (Jr.), UCF

Chris Swain (Sr.), Navy

Anthone Taylor (Sr.), Buffalo

Jahad Thomas (Jr.), Temple

Shane Tucker (Jr.), Middle Tennessee

Thomas Tyner (Jr.), Oregon

Marteze Waller (Sr.), Fresno State

Mike Warren (Fr.), Iowa State

DeAndre Washington (Sr.), Texas Tech

Dwayne Washington (Jr.), Washington

Ralph Webb (So.), Vanderbilt

Shaun Wick (Sr.), Wyoming

Brandon Wilds (Sr.), South Carolina

Jamaal Williams (Sr.), BYU

Jonathan Williams (Sr.), Arkansas

Nick Wilson (So.), Arizona