Wyoming Senior Center Nick Carlson Named One of 10 National Finalists for the ARA Sportsmanship Award

Nov. 1, 2012

LARAMIE, Wyo. - Wyoming senior center Nick Carlson has been named one of 10 national finalists for this year's Awards and Recognition Association (ARA) Sportsmanship Award. The award is presented annually to an outstanding NCAA Division I football player who best personifies the spirit of sportsmanship.

The 2012 ARA Sportsmanship Award recipient will be chosen from the 10 finalists and will be announced later this year. The 2012 finalists, in alphabetical order are: Matt Barkley, USC; Rex Burkhead, Nebraska; Nick Carlson, Wyoming; Akeem Davis, Memphis; Duron Harmon, Rutgers; Barrett Jones, Alabama; Collin Klein, Kansas State; Adam Replogle, Indiana; Eric Soza, Texas-San Antonio; and Manti Te'o, Notre Dame. Alabama's Jones won the award in 2011.

"This is our eighth year recognizing excellence among college football players, and this year we once again reviewed submissions from a plethora of positive role-model athletes," said former BYU Head Football Coach LaVell Edwards, who chairs the selection committee.

To qualify for the award, an athlete must be a starting player or significant contributor on his team; be in good academic standing; demonstrate great respect for competitors, school, teammates and coaches; show an ability to accept victory and defeat graciously; convey a high degree of humility and integrity; and demonstrate commitment in the classroom and to the community.

"This is a rock solid group of impressive young men who live and breathe positive sportsmanship on and off the field," said Awards and Recognition Association president Lori Warren, CRM." As the only national award that recognizes an athlete's character and leadership as it translates to sportsmanship, the Awards and Recognition Association Sportsmanship Award was created seven years ago to shed light on these important traits."

Carlson earned Second Team All-Mountain West honors as a junior in 2011. He was also selected by conference media as a Preseason First Team All-Mountain West selection entering 2012. He has started 41 of 42 career games, including the last 33 consecutive. This past spring, he was named one of four team captains for the 2012 Wyoming Cowboys. An outstanding student, he has earned Academic All-Conference honors twice during his career. Carlson was also named to the 2011 and 2012 Rimington Trophy Watch Lists, honoring the nation's top center, and the 2012 Rotary Lombardi Award Watch List, honoring the nation's top lineman.

The members of the ARA Sportsmanship Award Selection Committee include former college coaches and other prominent figures in the world of college football, as well as past winners of the award. The selection committee members are: LaVell Edwards (BYU); Bobby Bowden (Florida State); Fisher DeBerry (Air Force Academy); Spike Dykes (Texas Tech); Don James (Washington); Dick MacPherson (Syracuse); Tubby Raymond (Delaware); Gene Stallings (Alabama); Ted Tollner (USC and San Diego State); Hub Arkush (Pro Football Weekly); Christine Brennan (USA Today); Jeron Mastrud (Kansas State, 2009 ARA Sportsmanship Recipient); Eric Peterman (Northwestern, 2008 ARA Recipient); Alex Brink (Washington State, 2007 ARA Recipient); Daniel Doyle, Jr. (Executive Director, the Institute for International Sport); John Humenik (Executive Director, College Sports Information Directors of America); Bernie Kish (Former Executive Director, College Football Hall of Fame); Lisa Klunder (Executive Director, Kelly Cares Foundation); and Grant Teaff (Baylor and Executive Director of the American Football Coaches Association); Jim Thompson (Founder and Executive Director, the Positive Coaching Alliance); and Lori Warren, CRM (President, Awards and Recognition Association).

For more details on the ARA Sportsmanship Award, click here.