Four Wyoming Cowboy Football Players Earn First Team All-MWC Honors

Nov. 29, 2004


Complete All-Conference Team Listings in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The Wyoming Cowboys had a total of 13 football players named to the 2004 All-Mountain West Conference Football team that was announced on Monday.

Wyoming had four individuals earn First Team honors led by senior center Trenton Franz and senior defensive tackle Zach Morris. The two seniors were joined by junior place-kicker Deric Yaussi and redshirt freshman punt returner Hoost Marsh as first-team selections.

The five Cowboys who earned Second Team honors were led by junior kickoff returner Jovon Bouknight. He was joined by junior tight end John Wadkowski, junior noseguard Dusty Hoffschneider, sophomore cornerback Derrick Martin and junior punter Adam Brooks.

Four other Cowboys earned Honorable Mention All-Conference accolades. Those four were junior quarterback Corey Bramlet, sophomore offensive tackle Chase Johnson, sophomore free safety John Wendling and Bouknight also earned Honorable Mention honors at wide receiver.

Of Wyoming's 13 all-conference honorees, only two are seniors -- Franz and Morris.

The four first-team selections were the most for the Cowboys since 1998 -- the final year Wyoming was in the Western Athletic Conference. The most first-team honorees the Pokes have ever had in one season since joining the MWC in 1999 was two in 2001, when wide receiver Ryan McGuffey and offensive tackle Adam Goldberg were both named First Team All-Conference.

Franz and Bouknight had both previously earned Honorable Mention All-Conference honors in 2002 and 2003. Yaussi was an Honorable Mention selection a year ago in 2003.

Morris was the only Cowboy named to the 2004 Preseason All-Mountain West Conference team announced in July.

The Offensive Player of the Year in the Mountain West was junior quarterback Alex Smith of Utah. Two players shared Defensive Co-Player of the Year honors. The two were San Diego State senior linebacker Kirk Morrison and Utah senior defensive back Morgan Scalley. Austin Collie, a freshman wide receiver from BYU, was named Freshman of the Year, and Utah head coach Urban Meyer was named Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season.

The 2004 All-MWC team was selected by the eight conference head coaches and a panel of media members representing each of the eight conference schools.