Wyoming Senior Julius Stinson Earns First Team All-Mountain West Conference Honors

Dec. 4, 2007


Complete Team Listings in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The Mountain West Conference announced its All-Conference football team today, and Wyoming senior cornerback Julius Stinson was named First Team All-MWC in voting by conference head coaches and media members.

Stinson concluded his Wyoming career ranked No. 2 in the conference and No. 24 in the nation in interceptions with five on the season. He also ranked second in the MWC and No. 12 in the NCAA in passes defended, with a total of 17 for the year. The native of Victorville, Calif., was one of 12 semifinalists for this year's Jim Thorpe Award, which honors the nation's top defensive back. Stinson was an Honorable Mention All-MWC selection his junior year.

Senior tight end/h-back Wade Betschart earned Second Team All-MWC for the second consecutive season. Betschart caught 32 passes for 296 yards in 2007 -- both were career highs. He was one of the most consistent tight ends in the league this past season, catching three or more passes in eight of 12 games. He caught two touchdown passes on the season -- one versus Air Force and one against UNLV. He also was a devastating blocker coming out of the backfield from his h-back position.

John Fletcher quickly made his mark in the league in his first year as a starter on the Wyoming defensive line. The sophomore defensive tackle recorded 10.5 sacks on the season to rank No. 2 in the conference and No. 12 in the country. He also totalled 14.0 tackles for losses to tie for fifth in the MWC and 45th in the nation. This was Fletcher's first All-Conference honor of his career.

The four Cowboys who earned Honorable Mention All-Conference honors were: Ward Dobbs (junior inside linebacker), Kyle Howard (junior offensive tackle), Mitch Unrein (sophomore defensive end) and Billy Vinnedge (senior punter).

The MWC Offensive Player of the Year was Chad Hall, Sr., RB/WR from Air Force.

UNLV senior linebacker Beau Bell won the Defensive Player of the Year award.

Junior place-kicker/punter Louie Sakoda of Utah was voted Special Teams Players of the Year, after sharing the honor a year ago.

The Freshman of the Year was BYU running back Harvey Unga.

Air Force's Troy Calhoun earned Coach of the Year honors in his first season as head coach of the Falcons.