Wyoming Faces Fresno State Saturday in the New Mexico Bowl

Dec. 14, 2009


Wyoming Game Notes in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The Wyoming Cowboys will return to the postseason for the first time since 2004 when they face the Fresno State Bulldogs this Saturday in the New Mexico Bowl. The game will kick off at 2:30 p.m., Mountain Time on Saturday, Dec. 19 from University Stadium in Albuquerque.

For tickets to the New Mexico Bowl, Wyoming fans can go online at www.WyomingAthletics.com or they can call the UW Athletics Ticket Office at 1-800-922-9461 or 1-307-766-4850. If you are unable to attend Saturday's game, but would like to purchase tickets and donate them to a local military base in Albuquerque you can do so through the UW Athletics Ticket Office.

Wyoming and Fresno State have not played each other since 1997. The Cowboys and Bulldogs have split six previous meetings with each team winning three games on its home field. The two schools have never met on a neutral field prior to this Saturday's Fourth Annual New Mexico Bowl.The Cowboys are making their first-ever appearance in the New Mexico Bowl. UW's last bowl appearance was in the 2004 Las Vegas Bowl where it defeated UCLA, 24-21. This year's bowl appearance will be the 12th overall bowl appearance for the Cowboys. Wyoming holds a 5-6 overall bowl mark.

Dave Christensen is only the second Wyoming head coach to lead his team to a bowl game in his first year as the Cowboys' head coach. The only other UW coach to accomplish that was Paul Roach back in 1987, taking the Cowboys to the Holiday Bowl.

For Fresno State, it marks the second consecutive season they have played in the New Mexico Bowl. A year ago, the Bulldogs lost to Colorado State by a score of 35-40. Pat Hill is in his 13th season as head coach at Fresno State. He has posted a record of 100-65 (.606) as the Bulldogs' head coach. Hill will be leading FSU to its 10th bowl game in the past 11. His teams have posted a 4-5 record in their nine previous bowl appearances under Hill.FSU is led by junior running back Ryan Mathews, who leads the nation in rushing at 151.3 yards per game. The Bakersfield, Calif., native also ranks 13th in the country in both scoring (9.3 points per game) and all-purpose yards (162.4 yards per game).

Wyoming's defense will be led by four Cowboys who earned All-Mountain West Conference recognition this season. Senior defensive tackle John Fletcher, was named First Team All-MWC in voting by conference head coaches and media. Brian Hendricks, UW's sophomore linebacker, and Chris Prosinski, the Cowboys' junior free safety, were both named Second Team All-Mountain West. Hendricks is No. 6 in the nation in tackles this season, averaging 11.0 per game. Prosinski ranks No. 9 in the country in tackles, averaging 10.8 per game. Senior defensive end Mitch Unrein is the fourth Cowboy defender to earn All-Conference recognition as he was named Honorable Mention All-MWC this season.

The Cowboy offense will be led by Mountain West Conference Freshman of the Year Austyn Carta-Samuels. Carta-Samuels has quarterbacked the Cowboys to four, fourth-quarter comeback wins this season as a true freshman.

Saturday's game will be televised live on ESPN. It will also be carried live on the Cowboy Sports Network radio network beginning at 1:30 p.m., Mountain Time with the pregame show.