Brian Hill Named a 2016 Player to Watch

Dec. 21, 2015

LARAMIE, Wyo. - The University of Wyoming’s outstanding sophomore running back Brian Hill has received another national honor. The Touchdown Club of Columbus, Ohio (TDC) has named Hill one of its 2016 Players to Watch. Hill is one of a select group of players across the nation to be named to this year’s group, which will be honored on Saturday, Feb. 6, 2016, at the Touchdown Club of Columbus Awards. The awards ceremony will take place at the Lifestyle Communities Pavilion in Columbus, Ohio.

Joining Hill in the group of 2016 Players to Watch are seven other running backs: Saquon Barkley (Penn State), Matt Breida (Georgia Southern), Royce Freeman (Oregon), Elijah Hood (North Carolina), Jeremy McNichols (Boise State), Samaje Perine (Oklahoma) and Jahad Thomas (Temple). A group of four quarterbacks were selected, including: Luke Falk (Washington State), Patrick Mahomes (Texas Tech), Nick Mullens (Southern Miss) and Greg Ward Jr. (Houston). Wide receivers Gabe Marks (Washington State) and Thomas Sperbeck (Boise State) were also named to the group as were defensive back Evan Berry (Tennessee), defensive lineman Sam Hubbard (Ohio State) and linebacker Raekwon McMillan (Ohio State).

Hill ended his sophomore season of 2015 ranked No. 8 in the nation in rushing, averaging 135.9 yards per game. He set a new Wyoming single-season record with 1,631 rushing yards, and became the first Cowboy to rush for over 1,500 and over 1,600 yards in a single season. Earlier this year, Hill was named one of only 11 semifinalists for the 2015 Doak Walker Award that honors the nation’s premier college running back each season, and he was the only one of those 11 semifinalists from a non-Power Five conference.

The Touchdown Club of Columbus Awards ceremony honors top coaches and players from across the nation and presents several national awards. Among the awards presented are: the Sammy Baugh Award, recognizing the nation’s top passer; the Archie Griffin Award, honoring the MVP in college football each season; the Woody Hayes Award, recognizing college football’s Coach of the Year; and the Paul Warfield Award, honoring the nation’s top wide receiver. Former Wyoming Cowboy wide receiver Marcus Harris was the recipient of the Warfield Award in 1996.

The TDC also honors a Female Athlete of the Year and presents a Lifetime Achievement Award, which has been given to the likes of: former Nebraska head football coach Tom Osborne; great college and NBA star John Havlicek; former Kansas City Chiefs owner the late Lamar Hunt; and the great college and NFL running back Jim Brown.

More information on the Touchdown Club of Columbus may be found at: