Cowboys Tie for Third in Tucson

March 1, 2016

TUCSON, Ariz. - Day 3 Results

Sophomore Drew McCullough carded an impressive 66 (-6) to tie fourth overall and lead the Cowboys in the final round of the Arizona National Invitational Tournament on Tuesday. McCullough recorded the lowest individual score for UW in program history at the Arizona NIT with a 207 (-9). Together the Pokes shot a program best 853 (-11) to tie for third at the Omni Tucson National - Catalina Course in Tucson, Ariz. This is the first time since entering the tournament in 2009 that UW has fired under par. Last year the Pokes shot a 924 (+60) to end the Arizona NIT.

"We played really well," UW head coach Joe Jensen said. "We lose to New Mexico by a shot and wind up with third. It was a good tournament for us but we still have a lot to do this spring."

Sophomore Arron Lickteig appeared in the lineup for the first time this semester and showed promise. He came away with the second-best score for the Cowboys with a 214 (-2) to tie for 16th. Junior Ryan Wallen carded a 70 (-2) in the last round to post a 216 (E) and tie for 24th. Senior Kamrin Allen fired a 74 (+2) to wind up tying for 27th, as sophomore Quintin Pope shot a 76 (+4) to end his tournament. Sophomore Glenn Workman played as the lone individual for the tournament. He tallied a score of 76 (+4) in the last round to tie 48th overall.

“We have a good team,” Jensen added. “This is a good event for us and the guys played hard. We will relax for a couple of days then get ready for our next event.”

Santa Clara did not give any ground as they led the 14-team field from round one. The Broncos fired an 846 (-18) to take the tournament title. The 46th ranked New Mexico Lobos carded an 852 (-12), just beating the Pokes by one stroke to take home the silver. Wyoming and UTEP tied for third place as they each tallied a score of 853 (-11). New Mexico’s Gustavo Morantes and Iowa State’s Nick Voke shared the individual tournament title with a score of 205 (-11) each.

Wyoming Individual Results

T4. Drew McCullough: 69 – 72 – 66 (-9)

T16. Arron Lickteig: 71 – 73 – 70 (-2)

T24. Ryan Wallen: 71 – 75 – 70 (E)

T27. Kamrin Allen: 72 – 71 – 74 (+1)

T48: Glenn Workman*: 71 – 75 – 76 (+6)

T61. Quintin Pope: 71 – 79 – 76 (+10)

*Playing as an individual