Cowboy Golf Plays Opening Round of 2009 MWC Championship

April 30, 2009

TUCSON, Ariz. -

Complete Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader
Day Two Pairings in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

After the opening day of competition at the 2009 Mountain West Conference Men's Golf Championship in Tucson, Ariz., University of Wyoming sophomore Zach Zaremba is tied for 12th place after firing an opening round 72 (+1).

The conference championship is being played at OMNI Tucson National Golf Club, which plays to a par of 71 and measures 7,163 yards.

As a team, the Cowboys are currently in ninth place after shooting an opening round 295 (+11). However, the Pokes are within four strokes of four different teams.

Individually, Zaremba is leading the Cowboys with that opening round 72 (+1). Fellow sophomores Phil Henzlik and Mike May are right behind Zaremba after opening round scores of 73 (+2). Henzlik and May are tied for 22nd in the field.

"Things are very tight after today's round," Cowboy head coach Joe Jensen said. "We felt like we had three good rounds today but tomorrow we have to have four. In a great field like this, you have to have four guys finish within a couple strokes of even par. We are within four strokes of catching four different teams and with a good round tomorrow we can leap frog some teams."

In a field that features five teams which are ranked in the top-40 of the latest GolfStat national rankings, TCU jumped out to an early lead with an opening round 276 (-8). San Diego State is currently in second place (283, -1) and are followed by New Mexico (284, E), UNLV (289, +5), Colorado State (291, +7), BYU (291, +7), Utah (291, +7), Air Force (293, +9) and Wyoming (295, +11).

TCU's Tom Hoge leads the 45-man field after shooting an opening round 67 (-4). He is followed by San Diego State's Bryan Martin and UNLV's Ji Moon, each of whom shot an opening round 68 (-3). In all, 11 players shot par or better on Thursday.

The 2009 MWC Championship will continue on Friday with the second round of action. The Cowboys will be paired with Air Force and Utah and will begin teeing-off at 8 a.m. (Mountain Time). Live results can be followed online at