Cowboy Golf Wraps-Up Fall Season at Sycuan Invite

Oct. 21, 2008

SAN DIEGO, Calif. -

Complete Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

On the final day of the fall season, the Cowboys climbed two places in the team standings and finished in a 13th place tie at the San Diego State Sycuan Invitational on Tuesday. The invitational was held at the Willow Glen Golf Club in El Cajon, Calif.

In Tuesday's final round, the Cowboys shot a six-over par 294 to move up in the standings. The Cowboys finished with a three-round total of 881 (+17).

"We closed out the fall with a solid final round today," said UW head coach Joe Jensen. "Each round, it seems as though every guy is just one or two shots away from a very good round and today was no different."

Individually, sophomore Zach Zaremba closed out a nice tournament with a final round scorecard of 73 (+1). Zaremba finished the tournament with an even par score of 216, which was good for a 35th place tie in the 120-man field.

After a disappointing second round, sophomore Phil Henzlik rebounded nicely to shoot a final round 72 (E), and finish the tournament with a three-round total of 223 (+7). Sophomore Gabe Maier finished with an identical 223 (+7). Henzlik and Maier tied for 79th place.

Colorado State won the invitational with a three-round score of 837 (-27). The Rams edged UC Santa Barbara by just one stroke and San Diego by only two strokes.

Wichita State's Dustin Garza held on to win the tournament with a three-round total of 200 (-16).

"Overall, it was an up and down fall," added Jensen. "I feel like we matured and are now looking to do more of that during the winter break. This winter will be good for this team as we will continue to grow and become better players. Now that all five of these guys are through the first half of their sophomore year, I look for a much improved team come springtime."

The Cowboys will return to San Diego to open the spring season in mid-March. That opening tournament will be the Barona College Cup and will be held March 16-17, 2009.