Cowboys Open Spring Campaign Hosting the Wyoming Desert Intercollegiate

Feb. 18, 2015


Live Results | Weekly Notes   Get Acrobat Reader

The University of Wyoming men's golf team returns to the course hosting the seventh-annual Wyoming Desert Intercollegiate presented by Cleveland Golf, at the Classic Club in Palm Desert, Calif. The event will be played over a three-day period for the third time in history running from Friday through Sunday. All three days will consist of 18 holes that will begin at 8:00 a.m. MT.

"This is a top of caliber field and we will have to play very well at this tournament to compete with these teams," UW head golf coach Joe Jensen said. "It's the start of our spring season so as a program we are going down early to get a few days of practice in. We have created a great event on a premium course and this is why it has become a tournament that these teams want to come to."

Wyoming had four of the seven Cowboys finish with stroke averages in the 74 range in the fall, but freshman Glenn Workman finished with a team low of 74.5. Fellow teammates averaged about the same with junior Kamrin Allen at 74.7, sophomore Ryan Wallen at 74.9 and freshman Drew McCullough with a 74.8. Wallen shot the lowest round of the fall at Battle of the Tetons, as he recorded a 68 (-4). McCullough notched a first-place individual finish at the Ram Masters Invitational carding a 210 (E.) McCullough was the first freshman to win an individual title.

"This is the first spring for most of my guys and for us it's about getting the work it. The new building (Ron R. Richardson Golf Performance Center) has been fantastic it has been some of the best work in the off season we have done. Nothing replaces competition or actually being able to play golf but right now it's getting the work in and becoming consistent" he added.

The 2015 Desert Intercollegiate field will feature 24 teams. The field includes: Wyoming, Oregon, LMU, TCU, Cal Poly, Idaho, San Francisco, UCSB, Sothern Utah, UC Riverside, Northern Colorado, Nevada, UT-Arlington, Kansas, Iowa State, Kansas State, Louisiana-Monroe, Texas Tech, Houston Baptist, Arkansas-Little Rock, Denver and UC Northridge.

Oregon will look to defend its team title from last year. The Ducks finished the three-day tournament with a final tally of 837 (-27). TCU's Julien Brun took the individual title for the second-consecutive year with a score of 203 (-13) three strokes better than what he shot in 2014.