Cowboys Open Spring Season Hosting Wyoming Desert Intercollegiate

Feb. 19, 2014


Weekly Release | Video Preview

The University of Wyoming men's golf team will open the 2013 spring campaign hosting the sixth-annual Wyoming Cowboy Desert Intercollegiate presented by Cleveland/Srixon Golf, at the Classic Club, a Troon Golf property, in Palm Desert, Calif. The event will run Friday through Sunday. It is the second time in the history of the event that it will be played over a three-day period. All three days of 18 holes are set to begin with tee times at 7:10 a.m. PT.

The Cowboy are coming off a strong fall campaign in which UW win its second-consecutive Battle in the Tetons crown to open the season. The Pokes were also impressive at the Gene Miranda Falcon Invite finishing third in the event. It was the highest finish for Wyoming at the event since 2009.

Senior Eddie Stewart leads the Cowboys in stroke average during the fall season at 73.9. Fellow senior Eric Parish is second on the team with an average of 74.6. Sophomore Kamrin Allen shot the lowest round of the fall at the Battle in the Tetons, as he recorded a 66 (-6). It was the best round by a Cowboy since Gabe Maier shot a 63 (-7) at the Cowboy Classic in 2011. He would finish the tournament at 210 (-6). The Battle of the Tetons tournament also went down in Cowboy history as the first time teammates have won the same tournament in back-to-back seasons.

The 2014 Desert Intercollegiate field will feature 23 teams and 13 individuals. This year's field includes: Wyoming, Cal Poly, Iowa State, George Mason, Texas Tech, Colorado, TCU, UC Riverside, Kansas, Idaho, Nebraska, Arkansas-Little Rock, Kansas State, Oregon State, Denver, Santa Clara, Southern Utah, UC Santa Barbara, Oregon, UT Arlington, Louisiana-Monroe, Loyola Marymount and San Francisco.

TCU looks to defend its team championship a season ago. The Horned Frogs finished with a three-round final score of 845 (-19). The Horned Frogs were the only team under par for the event and were just one stroke off the team tournament record of 844 (-20) set by UNLV in 2012. TCU's Julien Brun returns to defend his individual crown. Last season at the Classic Club he fired a tournament-record 206 (-10).