Cowboy Golf Set to Host Seventh Annual Cowboy Classic, Presented by Cleveland Golf

April 3, 2009


Now in its seventh year, the University of Wyoming Cowboy golf team will host the annual Cowboy Classic, presented by Cleveland Golf, this coming week at Talking Stick Golf Club in Scottsdale, Ariz. The 2009 Cowboy Classic will be played on Monday, April 6 and Tuesday, April 7.

"We are very excited about the seventh year of the Cowboy Classic," UW head coach Joe Jensen said. "The Wyoming golf program is extremely grateful to our sponsors, Cleveland Golf, Mix 1 energy drink and Marriott Hotels and Resorts. We have a tremendous field of 23 teams this year, and we are expecting some great competition. It is neat to bring 43 college golf teams, between both the men's and women's events, to the Phoenix area. It is exciting for Wyoming golf and the college golf community.

"We are very grateful for our relationship with Troon Golf. This week's Cowboy and Cowgirl Classics, as well as the Wyoming Desert Intercollegiate, which is held in the fall in Palm Desert, Calif., are all played on Troon properties."

The Cowboy Classic has grown from 11 teams in 2003 to a tournament high 23 teams in both 2008 and again this year in 2009.

Wyoming's highest finish in the tournament came in 2005 when the Pokes finished second with a seven over par score of 217.

UC Davis has won the Cowboy Classic in back-to-back years, shooting a 840 (E) in 2007 and an 833 (-7) in 2008.

Individually, Boise State's Troy Merritt won the tournament title in 2008. Merritt posted the best individual tournament score in the history of the classic, a 202 (-8).

Talking Stick Golf Club's North Course measures in at 7,133 yards and plays to a par of 70. It has served as the host course for all seven Cowboy Classic events. It is located in the Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community at 9989 East Indian Bend Road in Scottsdale. Talking Stick is a Troon Golf Property.

Talking Stick was designed by Bill Coore and Ben Crenshaw in 1998. Since its opening, it has hosted the PGA Tour Qualifying School in 1998 and `99, and the USGA Sectional Qualifier in 1998, 2002 and 2005, among numerous other events.

Tournament Schedule:
Practice rounds, Sunday, April 5, beginning at 10:30 a.m.
First and second rounds (played consecutively), Monday, April 6, Shotgun start at 7:45 a.m.
Third round, Tuesday, April 7, Shotgun start at 7:45 a.m.

Host Course:
Talking Stick North Course, Scottsdale, Ariz., (480) 860-2221

7,133/Par 70

2008 Field (23 teams):
Wyoming, Arizona, Boise State, Fresno State, Gonzaga, Grand Canyon, Idaho, Northwestern, Old Dominion, Oregon State, San Diego, San Diego State, San Jose State, Southern Utah, Texas, UC Davis, UC Riverside, UC Santa Barbara, Pacific, Utah UTEP, Weber State and Western Carolina.

Year by Year Cowboy Classic Results:

Team Champion
2003 Arizona State, 293-289-289=871 (+31)
2004 UCLA, 282-268-279=829 (-11)
2005 UTEP, 279-285-276=840 (E)
2006 New Mexico State, 280-279-277=836 (-4)
2007 UC Davis, 272-282-286=840 (E)
2008 UC Davis, 273-280-280=833 (-7)

Individual Champion
2003 Gilberto Rodriguez, SDSU, 73-71-70=214 (+4)
2004 Travis Bertoni, Cal Poly, 66-71-67=204 (-6)
2005 Steve Newren, Utah, 68-69-70=207 (-3)
2006 Danny Bowen, NMSU, 69-68-68=205 (-5)
2007 Louie Bishop, UC Davis, 67-69-69=205 (-5)
2008 Troy Merritt, Boise State, 71-65-66=202 (-8)