Wyoming Men's Golf to Host Fifth Annual Cowboy Classic, Presented by Cleveland Golf

April 5, 2007


The University of Wyoming men's golf team will host the fifth annual Wyoming Cowboy Classic, presented by Cleveland Golf, on Monday and Tuesday, April 9-10 at the Talking Stick Golf Club (www.talkingstickgolfclub.com) in Scottsdale, Ariz. The tournament will play 54 holes, 36 on the first day and 18 on day two.

"It's unique that we host a home tournament in Arizona, but it's our home away from home and Talking Stick has provided a wonderful environment for this competition over the years," said UW Director of Golf Joe Jensen. "Our team takes pride in hosting the tournament.

"This event has grown rapidly and there is a great amount of national interest. Due to the efforts of Talking Stick, Cleveland Golf and the UW administration this is now a premier collegiate event. The national exposure we receive for hosting an event of this caliber is just wonderful in the way it represents the University of Wyoming and the golf program."

The Cowboys' highest finish at their own tournament came in 2005 when they finished in second place at seven over par. In just its fifth year, the Wyoming Cowboy Classic has grown from 11 to 23 teams, plus individuals this season. The tournament field for the 2007 Wyoming Cowboy Classic is listed below and includes 2006 team runner-up Western Kentucky.

This year's Classic features three individual players ranked in the top-50 by Golfstat. No. 14 Louie Bishop of UC Davis, no. 33 Gary Woodland from Kansas and no. 44 Fredric Sundberg of Campbell, who will all be considered favorites for top medalist honors. Woodland is being mentioned as a candidate for the national Player of the Year award, while both Bishop and Sundberg have had success at the Cowboy Classic in past years, finishing the 2006 event tied for fifth. The field also includes one of the top-ten players in the Mountain West Conference, Utah's Dustin Pimm. Leading the Cowboys will be seniors Jeff Franks and Niel King. Franks is the school record holder for low round (-7), while King has UW's low round this season (-4), as well as the best individual finish (T-13th).

New this year, the men's tournament will coincide with a women's event hosted by Wyoming at Ocotillo Golf Club in Chandler, Ariz. Since the two events fall on Easter weekend, participants and coaches will be invited to an Easter morning church service, made possible by the Arizona chapter of Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Sunday morning at the Resort Suites in Scottsdale.

The Cowboy Classic will once again be played at the North Course at Talking Stick. For the fifth consecutive year, Talking Stick has been named by Golfweek magazine as one of the best public courses in the state of Arizona.

Talking Stick Golf Club was designed by Bill Coore and Ben Crenshaw. It is located in the Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community at 9998 East Indian Bend Road in Scottsdale.

Talking Stick opened in January of 1998. Since its opening, it has hosted the PGA Tour Qualifying School in 1998 and `99, and the USGA Sectional Qualifier in 1998, 2002 and 2005, among numerous other events. The North Course has been the host course for the Wyoming Cowboy Classic in April of the past five years.

Cowboy Classic Schedule:
Easter Service, Sunday, April 8, 8:30 a.m. at Resort Suites, presented by Arizona FCA
Practice Rounds, Sunday, April 8, Beginning at 11:00 a.m.
First and Second Rounds (played consecutively), Monday, April 9, Shotgun start at 8:00 a.m.
Final Round, Tuesday, April 10, Shotgun start at 8:00 a.m.

Host Course:
Talking Stick North Course, Scottsdale, Ariz., 1-480-860-2221

7,133 yards / Par 70

2007 Tournament Field:
Air Force, Campbell, Gonzaga, Idaho, Iowa State, Kansas, Kennesaw State, North Texas, Northern Colorado, Old Dominion, Oral Roberts, Santa Clara, Southern Utah, UC Riverside, UC Santa Barbara, UC Davis, UNC Greensboro, Utah, Utah Valley State, UTEP, Weber State, Western Kentucky, Wyoming

Team Champions:
2003, Arizona State, 293-289-289=871 (+31)
2004, UCLA, 282-268-279=829 (-11)
2005, UTEP, 279-285-276=840 (E)
2006, New Mexico State, 280-279-277=836 (-4)

Individual Champions:
2003, Gilberto Rodriguez, SDSU, 73-71-70=214 (+4)
2004, Travis Bertoni, Cal Poly, 66-71-67=204 (-6)
2005, Steve Newren, Utah, 68-69-70=207 (-3)
2006, Danny Bowen, NMSU, 69-68-68=205 (-5)