Wyoming Men's Golf Team Earns NCAA Public Recognition Award

May 7, 2014

Indianapolis, Ind. -

For the second consecutive year, the University of Wyoming men’s golf team was recognized by the NCAA on Wednesday with a Public Recognition Award for its outstanding multiyear Academic Progress Rate (APR) ending with the 2012-13 academic year.

“I am very proud of the members of our team for this accomplishment,” said Wyoming Director of Golf and head men’s golf coach Joe Jensen. “Academically and competitively, our team has worked extremely hard all year.  This shows that they understand it takes both a commitment academically and athletically to fulfill the term student-athlete. Having received this recognition for the second consecutive year shows that our guys continue to represent Wyoming very well.”

The NCAA annually  honors Division I teams whose APRs rank in the top 10 percent of all teams in their respective sport by publicly recognizing their latest multiyear NCAA Division I APR. This announcement is part of the overall Division I academic reform effort and is intended to highlight teams that demonstrate a commitment to academic progress and retention of student-athletes by achieving the top APRs within their respective sports.

“To have a team recognized among the Top 10 percent in APR in the country is an accomplishment that our athletics department is extremely proud of,” said Tom Burman, University of Wyoming Athletics Director.  “The young men in our men’s golf program have now achieved this recognition for two consecutive years, which says a lot about their dedication to performing well in the classroom.  It also speaks to the stability that Coach (Joe) Jensen has developed within our golf program and to the outstanding job that our Office of Academic Support has done.”

The NCAA’s APR is designed to track the academic progress of each student-athlete on an athletic scholarship at a particular institution. The APR accounts for eligibility, retention and graduation and provides a measure of each team’s academic performance. The Mountain West Conference had 13 teams recognized from seven different MW member institutions.

The NCAA will release the complete listing of APR scores for all sports on May 14.