Downing and VomBaur Qualify for the NCAA Tournament

March 8, 2008


Complete Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

After an intense day of wrestling, the Wyoming Cowboy Wrestling team will be sending two outstanding wrestlers to the NCAA Tournament in St. Louis. UW senior Carter Downing qualified for his third straight national tournament and sophomore Cory VomBaur qualified for his second straight national tournament Saturday night in Fargo, N.D. Junior Eric Coxbill was selected as an alternate qualifier.

Wyoming finished in third place behind Air Force and WWC Champion Northern Iowa with a final team score of 49.5.

"We went into the tournament confident in our guys and we came out with two qualifiers," UW head coach Steven Suder said. "We wish we could have sent more guys, but we are happy for the two that made it."

Downing (141) began the day defeating UNC's Richard Lohr by major decision 13-2. He continued to wrestle well defeating NDSU's Gabriel Mooney by major decision 10-0, earning a spot in the finals. Downing was defeated 3-1 in the championship match by Air Force's Jason Kriegbaum. Both wrestlers qualified for the NCAA tournament and Kriegbaum went on to be named the most outstanding wrestler of the Western Regional.

"It is an honor and quite an accomplishment for Carter to make it to his third straight NCAA tournament," Suder said. "He lost to a guy that was named the most outstanding wrestler, we are proud of what he accomplished."

VomBaur (133) opened the day with a first round bye. In the second round, VomBaur defeated NDSU's Eric Sanders and 2-1 then fell to UNI's Josh Baldridge in the championship match by way of pin.

"Cory has been up and down this entire season," Suder continued. "It is a feather in his cap the way he wrestled today and it is a nice accomplishment for him to be going to his second straight NCAA tournament in as many years."

Redshirt freshman Cole Dallaserra (149) lost his first match of the day, then worked his way back through the wrestlebacks defeating Sean Flynn of SDSU and Daniel Prater of UNC to capture third place. Dallaserra did not qualify for the national tournament.

Coxbill (165) defeated Vincent Salminen by fall at the 2:48 mark and then beat SDSU's Ryan Meyer 3-2 in the tiebreaker period. Coxbill was unable to defeat the #1 seeded Moza Fay from UNI in the championship match and failed to qualify for the national tournament.

Senior Jason Still opened his day with a big victory over the #2 seeded Dustin Bauman of UNI 4-3 to earn a spot in the championship match. Still was up-ended by the #1 seeded Reece Hopkin of UNC 4-1. Still was unable to qualify for the national tournament.

Other Cowboys competing in the 2008 Western Regional include: redshirt junior Cody Grant (125) went 0-2, junior Cody Chipperfield (157) went 0-2, senior Kyle Morrow (174) went 0-2, junior Mikel Hoopes (184) went 1-2 and junior Dan Barrone (197) went 0-2.

"I feel good about our third place finish as a team," Suder said. "We had six guys out score three full teams which is a credit to the way our guys went at it today. This is our second year in a row to finish third and we will take it. It is a tough process that we go through to decide who gets to go to the tournament. Some guys left it in the hands of the committee and it doesn't always work out the way we want it to. There is a solid number of very good wrestlers in this tournament and I felt we had a pretty good day as a whole.

Wyoming will have the next week off before preparing for the NCAA Tournament on March 20-22 in St. Louis, Mo.

"We go through a peaking faze and a taper faze to get ready for the Western Regional and the NCAA Tournament. We have to maintain our peak for a week and a half and we are excited for Carter and Cory to represent us in St. Louis.

Following are the 20 national qualifiers and three alternates from the NCAA Division I West Regional and the final team scores:

Final Team Scores:
1. Northern Iowa, 119.0
2. Air Force, 64.5
3. Wyoming, 49.5
4. Northern Colorado, 47.5
5. North Dakota State, 44.5
6. South Dakota State, 14.0

125 - Eric Hoffman, North Dakota State
133 - Josh Baldridge, Northern Iowa
141 - Jacob Kriegbaum, Air Force
149 - Nick Pickerell, Northern Iowa
157 - Tyson Reiner, Northern Iowa
165 - Moza Fay, Northern Iowa
174 - Tyler French, Air Force
184 - Andy O'Loughlin, Northern Iowa
285 - Reece Hopkin, Northern Colorado
Wild Cards:
125 - Anthony Mustari, Northern Colorado; and Caleb Flores, Northern Iowa
133 - Cory VomBaur, Wyoming
141 - Carter Downing, Wyoming; and C.J. Ettelson, Northern Iowa
149 - Ryan Adams, North Dakota State
157 - None
165 - Stephen Crozier, Air Force
174 - Alex Dolly, Northern Iowa
184 - Jacob Devlin, Air Force
197 - Jacob Bryce, North Dakota State
285 - None
Alternate No. 1 - Tyler Sorenson, 184, South Dakota State
Alternate No. 2 - Eric Coxbill, 165, Wyoming
Alternate No. 3 - Anthony Dorward, 157, Air Force