Cowboys Wrestlers Bring Home Eight Titles From Northwest Open

Nov. 9, 2013

POWELL, Wyo. -

Full results available here

Eight tournament titles were the reward of the hard work of the University of Wyoming wrestling team after action wrapped up in the Northwest Open on Saturday.

Six Wyoming wrestlers won their second-straight tournament title, fresh off winning the Cowboy Open in Laramie last Saturday. That list includes junior Tyler Cox, redshirt freshman Cole Mendenhall, junior Andy McCulley, redshirt freshman Brent Havlik, redshirt freshman Benjamin Stroh and junior Shane Woods.

Cox went 4-0 with three falls to win the Open 125-pound title in dominating fashion. He now is 8-0 for the year. Sophomore Sean O'Leary was fourth at 133 with a 3-2 mark.

Mendenhall, now 8-0, continued his winning ways with a 4-0 mark and his second tournament title of his young career at 141 pounds. Senior Kyle Komata was fourth in the same bracket. Junior Brandon Richardson posted a 4-0 mark at 149 pounds to the win the title, while redshirt freshman Jake Elliott was third in the same bracket.

McCulley moved his overall record to 9-0 with five wins Saturday, winning the 157-pound title. The Pokes went 1-2-3 at 157, with redshirt freshman Tanner Miller finishing second and freshman Archie Colgan finishing third, wrestling unattached. Junior Dakota Friesth won at 165 pounds with a 4-0 mark, beating teammate Dallas Bailey in the final in a 5-3 decision.

Havlik won another title at 174 pounds with a 4-0 mark, while freshman Zach Beard was third in the same weight, wrestling unattached.

Stroh won his second-straight 184-pound title, winning three of his four matches by bonus points. Junior Leland Pfeifer was second at 184 for the second-straight week. Junior Shane Woods was first at 197 pounds, going 3-0, while redshirt freshman Brandon Tribble was fourth at the same weight.

Sophomore Tanner Harms was second at heavyweight, withdrawing from the title bout with an injury.

The Cowboys will begin the dual season Nov. 15 on the road versus Boise State. First match will take place at 7 p.m.