University of Wyoming Hosts Cowboy Open Wrestling Tournament

Nov. 11, 2001


Seven University of Wyoming wrestlersplaced in the top three in their respective weight classes on Sunday,Nov. 11, at the Cowboy Open wrestling tournament. The Cowboys hosted avariety of schools from throughout the region in the all day tournamentheld in the War Memorial Fieldhouse.

Wyoming senior Kelly McConville was the lone Division I championwinning the 133-pound class. McConville, the number two seed, defeatedthe number one seed Andy Peters of Air Force, 5-2, and finished thetournament with a perfect 4-0 record

Two other Cowboys, senior Mark Hamrick and junior Brad Steele, alsowrestled in championships matches. Hamrick, who breezed his way to thefinals by outscoring his opponents by a combined score of 41-14, fell tonumber one seed Gabe Vigil of Boise State by pin to finish second at 141pounds. Steele, the number three seed, wrestled his way to theheavyweight title match before losing to Boe Rushton of Boise State10-7.

Four Wyoming wrestlers placed third in their weight classes. NewcomerAndrew Shuler, the number two seed, defeated fourth seeded TravisKoppenhafer of Adams State 9-7 to take third. Shuler, a transfer fromVirginia Tech, compiled a record of 5-1 on way to his third-placefinish. At 165 pounds, redshirt freshman Justin Salas battled his wayback from an opening round loss to defeat Nathan Ploehn (unattached,Boise State) by a pin. Ploehn defeated Salas in the opening round 4-2.

Redshirt freshman E.K. Waldhaus looked strong on his way to a 7-5decision over Patrick Owens of Boise State for third-place. Waldhaus'only loss was to eventual champion Ricky Springman of Pennsylvania inthe semifinals. Returning sophomore starter Kevin Kessner had noproblems in his 184 pound third-place match, as he defeated Will McCleveof Emory-Riddle 13-4. Kessner lost in the semifinals to TysonThievierge of Montana State-Northern, who won the 184 pound title.

"I think this might have been one of the tougher Cowboy Opens thatwe've had for awhile," said Wyoming head coach Steven Suder. "To knowthat seven of our top ten guys placed in the top three is good for ourprogram. I was really encouraged by the fact that a lot of our guys areyoungsters and they all wrestled well. Our young guys in the 20 andunder division showed some potential and they showed some good thingsand battled very hard.

"These kind of tournaments are good because they expose so much andtoday's tournament exposed us to a lot of things. Overall I was veryencouraged with the teams efforts."

The Cowboys will compete in their first dual meet of the season whenthey travel to Brookings, S.D., to take on Division II power SouthDakota State on Thursday, Nov. 15.

2001 Cowboy Open Results(Top Three Placers)

Division I1251. Ben Vombaur Boise State2. Voujar Obinjou Lassen College3. Mason Lenhard Pennsylvania

1331. Kelly McConville Wyoming2. Andy Peters Air Force3. Jesse Brock Boise State

1411. Gabe Vigil Boise State2. Mark Hamrick Wyoming3. Shane Barnes Adams State

1491. Scott Frohardt Air Force2. Collin Robertson Boise State3. Jody Giuricich Pennsylvania

1571. Yoshi Nakamura Pennsylvania2. Pat Cadwallader Embry-Riddle3. Andrew Shuler Wyoming

1651. Josh Henson Pennsylvania2. Dave Vondy Western State3. Justin Salas Wyoming

1741. Ricky Springman Pennsylvania2. Sam Sheretz Air Force3. E.K. Waldhaus Wyoming

1841. Tyson Thievierger Mont. State-Northern2. Marcus Schontube Pennsylvania3. Kevin Kessner Wyoming

1971. Mike Faust Pennsylvania2. T.J. Deaguero Bear Wrestling Club3. Emmett Willson Mont. State-Northern

HWT1. Boe Rushton Boise State2. Brad Steele Wyoming3. Kevin Hoy Air Force

Division II (20 and under)1251. Heath McKim Boise State (Unatt.)2. Justin Stanley Lassen College3. Kyle Kilgore Northwest College

1331. Jarred Bergen Nebraska2. Keith Batista Chadron State3. Bryan Miller Colby College

1411. Matt Murry Colby College2. Dustin May Mont. State-Northern3. Kyle Nay Mont. State-Northern

1491. Ben Cherrington Boise State (Unatt.)2. Lorenzo Hutchins Northwest College3. O.T. Johnson Colby College

1571. Joe Bracamonte Unattached2. Lance Nelson Mont. State-Northern (Unatt.)3. Justin Gabbad Air Force Prep

1651. Jared Deaguero Bear Wrestling Club2. Luke Chase Colorado School of Mines3. Jacob Klien Nebraska

1741. Gabe Harry Northwest College2. Kyle Fisher Mont. State-Northern3. Jacob Lillich Air Force

1841. B.J. Padden Nebraska2. Bruce Johnson Air Force3. Ben Holscher Chadron State

1971. Casey Phelps Boise State (Unatt.)2. Klint Siemson Dickenson State3. Travis Lefever Fort Hayes State (Unatt.)

HWT1. Dustin Sullivan Adams State2. Matt Peterson Chadron State (Unatt.)3. Greg Glodt Northwest College