Grapplers Defeat South Dakota State, Host Cowboy Open

November 16, 1998


The Wyoming Cowboy wrestling team won its first dual of the 1998-99 season on Saturday night, November 14, when they defeated South Dakota State 32-11. The Cowboys started the dual off with three straight pins, by Jeremy Sell (174), Steven Schenk (184), and Craig Rumsey (197), building an early 18-0 lead. That lead went to 22-0 after heavyweight Abe Boomer won his match 9-1. SDSU then brought the score back to 22-11 after three straight wins. But Wyoming won the remaining three matches, by Mark Hamrick (149), Matt Winninger (157), and Brian Wood (165), for a final score of 32-11. There was a nice crowd on hand to see the Pokes, as 805 fans were in attendance.

Wyoming also hosted and competed in the annual Cowboy Open on Sunday, November 15. Action took place in the War Memorial Fieldhouse, and wrestlers from 12 schools were in attendance. The Cowboys had nine placewinners at the Open. The only champion for Wyoming was freshman Brad Steele, who won the heavyweight class in the 20 and under division. Steven Schenk placed second in the open division at 184-pounds. Cisco Gonzales, Brian Wood, Craig Rumsey and David Schenk all placed third. Chris Walker, Corey Hamrick and Abe Boomer all notched fourth-place finishes.

Mike Barreras (133), of Adams State College was named the Open's Most Outstanding Wrestler, while Luke Bindreiff (174), of the Air Force Academy was given the Most FallsAward.

Following is a list of the winners of each bracket:

Open Division-125 lbs., Shane Valdez, Oklahoma133 lbs., Mike Barreras, Adams State141 lbs., Micheal Lightner, Oklahoma149 lbs., Jared Frayer, Oklahoma157 lbs., David Keildgaard, Oklahoma165 lbs., Kirk White, Boise State174 lbs., Trent Monlux, Southern Colorado184 lbs., John Simpson, Colorado School of Mines197 lbs., Waymon May, OklahomaHeavyweight, John Henry-Ward, Oklahoma

20 & Under Division-125 lbs., Rod Martinez, Northwestern Wyoming133 lbs., Troy McIlravy, Northern Iowa141 lbs., Paul Konechne, South Dakota State149 lbs., Scott Frohardt, Air Force Academy157 lbs., Toby Bryant, South Dakota State165 lbs., Terry Parham, Air Force Academy174 lbs., Jason Tapia, Southern Colorado184 lbs., Kevin Lochner, Southern Colorado197 lbs., Jon Bush, Colorado School of MinesHeavyweight, Brad Steele, Unattached (Wyoming)