Seven Cowboy Wrestlers Earn 2010-11 All-WWC Honors

March 14, 2011

Laramie, Wyo.

2010-11 All-WWC Teams Get Acrobat Reader

Seven University of Wyoming wrestlers claimed 2010-11 All-Western Wrestling Conference honors, which were announced by the league on Monday. The Cowboys tied with Northern Iowa for the most representatives at seven, as individuals earned the accolade with a top-three finish at the 2011 NCAA West Regional on March 6.

Michael Martinez (125), Shane Onufer (165) and Cole Dallaserra (149) paced the way for five UW wrestlers on the All-WWC first team. The honor was the third for each, as Martinez and Onufer have captured three straight individual titles and Dallaserra won this season after finishing third twice. Lee Helbig (197) earned his second all-conference honor with first-team accolades, after claiming third team last season, and Patrick Martinez (174) rounded out the Cowboys on the first team.

Junior Joe LeBlanc (184) was named to the All-WWC second team to claim his third all-conference honor, while senior Matthew McLaughlin (Hwt.) capped his career with a second-team honor. To view all the honorees for the three All-WWC teams, click on the link above.

The Western Wrestling Conference is comprised of seven schools including the Air Force Academy, North Dakota State, Northern Colorado, Northern Iowa, South Dakota State, Utah Valley and Wyoming.

Wyoming's 2010-11 All-WWC Honorees
First Team
125 - Michael Martinez (Wyoming), Jr., Pagosa Springs, Colo. (Pagosa Springs HS)**
149 - Cole Dallaserra (Wyoming), Sr., Butte, Mont. (Butte HS)**
165 - Shane Onufer (Wyoming), Jr., Auburn, Wash. (Auburn HS)**
174 - Patrick Martinez (Wyoming), RFr., Hemet, Calif. (Temecula Valley HS)
197 - LJ Helbig (Wyoming), So., Mason, Mich. (Mason HS)*

Second Team
184 - Joe LeBlanc (Wyoming), Jr., Meeker, Colo. (Meeker HS)**
285 - Matthew McLaughlin (Wyoming), Murphysboro, Ill. (Murphysboro HS)

* denotes two-time honoree** denotes three-time honoree