Nine UW Wrestlers Earn All-Conference Honors

March 16, 2015

OREM, Utah -

Nine University of Wyoming wrestlers were selected to the All-Conference squad announced Monday by the Western Wrestling Conference. The Cowboys led the conference with the nine wrestlers being named all-conference.

Senior Shane Woods earned a spot on the First Team All-WWC squad after winning his third-consecutive WWC title. Senior Tyler Cox earned Second Team honors at 125 pounds. Redshirt freshman Archie Colgan garnered Second Team honors at 157 pounds. Sophomore Benjamin Stroh rounded out the Cowboys on the Second Team earning the accolade at 184 pounds.

Five Cowboys earned Third Team honors for their performance at the WWC Championship. Sophomore Drew Templeman (133 pounds), sophomore Cole Mendenhall (141 pounds), senior Dakota Friesth (165 pounds), senior Andy McCulley (174 pounds) and junior Tanner Harms (285 Pounds) all earned honors after battle back in wrestlebacks.

The Cowboys were second in the team race at the WWC Championships, totaling 65 points to trail North Dakota State by five points.

125: Josh Rodriguez (NDSU), So., Guadalupe, Calif. (Righetti HS)*
133: Jade Rauser (UVU), Jr., Townsend, Mont. (Broadwater HS)*
141: Mitch Bengtson (NDSU), RFr., St. Cloud, Minn. (St. Cloud Apollo HS)
149: Clay Ream (NDSU), RFr., Wentzville, Mo. (Holt HS)
157: Cody Pack (SDSU), Sr., Quincy, Calif. (Quincy HS)**
165: Mitchell Polkowske (UNC), Sr., LaJara, Colo. (Centauri HS)*
174: Kurtis Julson (NDSU), Sr., Inver Grove Heights, Minn. (Simley HS)**
184: Hayden Zillmer (NDSU), Jr., Crosby, Minn. (Crosby Ironton HS)*
197: Shane Woods (WYO), Sr., Tuttle, Okla. (Tuttle HS)**
285: J.J. Everard (SDSU), Jr., Etiwanda, Calif. (Etiwanda HS)

125: Tyler Cox (WYO), Sr., Gillette, Wyo. (Campbell County HS)**
133: Brance Simms (SDSU), Jr., Gilmore City, Iowa (Humboldt HS)
141: Luke Zilverburg (SDSU), RFr., Belle Plaine, Minn. (Belle Plaine HS)
149: Alex Kocer (SDSU), So., Wagner, S.D. (Wagner HS)*
157: Archie Colgan (WYO), RFr., Westminster, Colo. (Pomona HS)
165: Jesse Stafford (AFA), Sr., Loomis, Calif. (Del Oro HS)
174: Ethan Smith (UVU), Sr., Midway, Utah (Wasatch HS)*
184: Ben Stroh (WYO), So., Harlem, Mont. (Chinook HS)*
197: Trent Noon (UNC), Sr., Oakdale, Calif. (Oakdale HS)
285: Evan Knutson (NDSU), Sr., Wausau, Wis. (Wausau West HS)***

125: Chasen Tolbert (UVU), Jr., Delta, Utah (Delta HS)**
133: Drew Templeman (WYO), So., Orting, Wash. (Orting HS)
141: Cole Mendenhall (WYO), So., Great Falls, Mont. (Great Falls HS)*

149: Gerald McGinty (AFA), So., Colorado Springs, Colo. (Pine Creek HS)
157: Beau Roberts (UNC), Jr., Boise, Idaho (Mountain View HS)
165: Dakota Friesth (WYO), Sr., Adel, Iowa (Adel-DeSoto-Minburn HS)**
174: Andy McCulley (WYO), Sr., Rock Springs, Wyo. (Rock Springs HS)**

184: Brady Ayers (SDSU), So., Waterville, Minn. (Waterville, Elysian-Morristown HS)
197: Derek Thomas (UVU), Jr., Layton, Utah (Layton HS)*
285: Tanner Harms (WYO), Jr., Greenwood Village, Colo. (Cherry Creek HS)

* Denotes two-time all-conference honoree
** Denotes three-time all-conference honoree
*** Denotes four-time all-conference honoree