Six UW Wrestlers Tabbed For All-Conference Team

March 18, 2014

OREM, Utah -

Six University of Wyoming wrestlers were selected to the All-Conference squad, announced Monday by the Western Wrestling Conference.

Three Cowboys earned a spot on the First Team All-WWC squad for their performances at the conference championships March 8, including junior Tyler Cox, redshirt freshman Benjamin Stroh and junior Shane Woods. Cox won his first WWC championship at 125 pounds and Stroh came away with the 184-pound title, while Woods won his second-straight WWC title this season. Woods was the 197-pound champion this season after winning at 184 last year.

Redshirt freshman Cole Mendenhall, junior Andy McCulley and junior Dakota Friesth earned Second Team All-WWC for their runner-up finishes in the conference tournament. Mendenhall was second at 141 pounds, while McCulley and Friesth finished second at 157 and 165, respectively.

The Cowboys were second in the team race at the WWC Championships, totaling 66 points to trail North Dakota State by eight points.



125: Tyler Cox (WYO), Jr., Gillette, Wyo. (Campbell County HS)*

133: Greg Rinker (AFA), Sr., Northampton, Pa. (Northampton HS)* 

141: Avery Garner (UVU), Sr., Boise, Idaho (Centennial HS)**

149: Alex Kocer (SDSU), RFr., Wagner, S.D. (Wagner HS)

157: Cody Pack (SDSU), Jr., Quincy, Calif. (Quincy HS)*

165: Steven Monk (NDSU), Sr., Wausau, Wis. (Wausau West HS)***

174: Hayden Zillmer (NDSU), So., Crosby, Minn. (Crosby Ironton HS)

184: Benjamin Stroh (WYO), RFr., Harlem, Mont. (Chinook HS)

197: Shane Woods (WYO), Jr., Tuttle, Okla. (Tuttle HS)*

285: Evan Knutson (NDSU), Jr., Wausau, Wis. (Wausau West HS)**



125: Josh Martinez (AFA), So., Colorado Springs, Colo. (Pine Creek HS)*

133: Justin LaValle (NDSU), Sr., West Fargo, N.D. (West Fargo HS)

141: Cole Mendenhall (WYO), RFr., Great Falls, Mont. (Great Falls HS) 

149: Natrelle Demison (AFA), Fr., Bakersfield, Calif. (Bakersfield HS)

157: Andy McCulley (WYO), Jr., Rock Springs, Wyo. (Rock Springs HS)*

165: Dakota Friesth (WYO), Jr., Adel, Iowa (Adel-DeSota-Minburn)*

174: John Nething II (SDSU), Jr., Paynesville, Minn. (New London-Spicer HS)

184: Kurtis Julson (NDSU), Jr., Inner Grove Heights, Minn. (Simley HS)*

197: Tyler Lehmann (NDSU), RFr., Fargo, N.D. (West Fargo HS)

285: Adam Fager (UVU), Jr., Layton, Utah (Layton HS)*


* Denotes two-time all-conference honoree

** Denotes three-time all-conference honoree

*** Denotes four-time all-conference honoree