Cowboy Coaching Staff Announces Wrestling Team Awards

April 15, 2013

LARAMIE, Wyo. - A total of 29 individual honors were announced Saturday by the University of Wyoming wrestling coaching staff at the year-end team banquet.

Four annual awards, named for former UW head coaches, were distributed, along with academic awards and recognition for UW's NCAA qualifiers and seniors.

Senior Alfonso Hernandez was given the Everett Lantz Most Outstanding Wrestler Award. The senior leader had a stellar season, garnering All-America honors for the second time and finishing seventh in the nation at 197 pounds. He leaves UW as one of only six multiple All-America wrestlers in team history, and compiled 120 wins over four seasons, which ranks him No. 8 in school history for total wins.

Hernandez added another honor, the Steven Suder High-Point Award, for the second-straight season. The honor is bestowed to an individual for his total dual points and grade-point average.

The Joe McDaniel Most Improved Wrestler Award went to sophomore 125-pounder Tyler Cox. In his first career trip to nationals, Cox placed eighth to earn All-America status and finished the season with a 35-11 mark.

Sophomore Andy McCulley was honored for his toughness and resolve as he received the Joe Dowler Cowboy Up Award. McCulley led UW with 11 falls and made his first trip to NCAAs this season.

Seven 2013 NCAA qualifiers were given plaques for their accomplishment, including Cox, Hernandez and McCulley, along with seniors McCade Ford and L.J. Helbig. Other NCAA qualifiers were sophomores Brandon Richardson and Shane Woods. Cox and Hernandez were given watches for their All-America finishes.

Thirteen student-athletes were recognized for academic achievements. Four Cowboys maintained a 3.5 or higher GPA throughout the season: sophomore Tanner Harms, Hernandez, sophomore Leland Pfeifer and senior Michael Poulos. Seven Pokes held a 3.0 or better GPA: freshmen Cole Ford, Jordan Hanson, Brent Havlik, Tanner Miller and Ben Stroh, and sophomores Richardson and Robert Stroh.

Junior Kyle Komata received the Academic Hustle award for the second-consecutive season. Junior Jake Eitzen also earned the same honor.

Five seniors were honored by the UW coaching staff for their dedication and contributions to Cowboy Wrestling. That list included McCade Ford, Kasey Garnhart, Helbig, Hernandez and Poulos.