Wyoming Wrestling Honors Team Award Winners

April 25, 2016


The University of Wyoming wrestling coaching staff doled out various team awards Sunday at the program's annual year-end team banquet. Hosted in the Wildcatter Club and Suites, the team, support staff, family and friends of the program assembled to recognize the squad's highest achievements throughout the year both on and off the mat. One senior, two juniors and a sophomore came away with the program's highest accolades.

Wyoming's three seniors were honored, as well as the Cowboy's three NCAA qualifiers. Cole Ford was also honored for his contributions to the program.

Sophomore Bryce Meredith was named the Everett Lantz Most Outstanding Wrestler. He was an NCAA All-American and runner-up at 141 pounds. Meredith became the 32nd All-American in school hstory and the first finalist since 1996. Meredith finished his first season with the Pokes with an impressive 29-5 record. He led the team in dual points with 49 going 11-1.

For showing toughness and resolve throughout the season, junior Drew Templeman was given the Joe Dowler Cowboy Up award. He was an NCAA Qualifier for the first time. Templeman fought injuries the second half of the season to finish with a 19-10 record appearing in rankings throughout the season.

A solid season after a weight change earned junior Cole Mendenhall the Joe McDaniel Most Improved Wrestler Award. He finished the season with a 17-9 record wrestling at 141/149 pounds. He just missed out on qualifying for the NCAA Championship finishing fourth at the Big 12 Championship. Mendenhall also garnered the Academic Hustle award for going above and beyond in his academic pursuits.

The Steven Suder High-Point Award, given to the wrestler with the highest grade-point average and best winning percentage, went to 285-pound senior Tanner Harms for the second-straight season. Harms was an NCAA Qualifier and finished the season with a 22-6 record helping the Pokes' to their highest finish at the NCAA Championship in 20 years. He was also the first finalist for the Cowboys to wrestle in the Big 12 Championship. Earlier this month he was named Scholar Athlete of the Year by the Big 12 Conference.