Wyoming Wrestling Honors Team Award Winners

May 5, 2015

LARAMIE, Wyo. - The University of Wyoming wrestling coaching staff doled out various team awards Saturday at the program's annual year-end team banquet. Hosted at the Fish-On Ranch about 25 miles west of Laramie, the team, support staff, family and friends of the program assembled to recognize the squad's highest achievements throughout the year both on and off the mat. Two seniors and one junior and sophomore came away with the program's highest accolades.

Wyoming's seven seniors were also honored, as well as the Cowboy's six NCAA qualifiers.

Senior Shane Woods was named Everett Lantz Most Outstanding Wrestler for 2015. He recorded a team high in wins with 34 and won his third straight Western Wrestling Conference title. Woods was a force in duals for the Pokes during the season recording a 15-0 record. He finished his career with 101 wins tying for 16th in Wyoming history.

For showing toughness and resolve throughout the season, senior Andy McCulley was given the Joe Dowler Cowboy Up award. McCulley moved up two weight classes for his senior season and qualified for his second NCAA Championship. He finished the season with a 28-10 record. McCulley finished his career with 104 wins ranking 15th in Wyoming history.

A solid season against tough competition earned sophomore Drew Templeman the Joe McDaniel Most Improved Wrestler plaque. He finished the season with 19 wins and earned Third Team All-WWC honors.

The Steven Suder High-Point Award, given to the wrestler with the highest grade-point average and best winning percentage, went to 285-pound junior Tanner Harms. He earned a bid to the NCAA Championships for the Pokes. He was also a Third Team All-WWC selection. He finished the season with a 18-12 record. He excels in the classroom earning All WWC Academic honors.

Twelve Cowboys were given awards for their work in the classroom. Templeman, freshman Branson Ashworth, senior Andy McCulley, senior Leland Pfeifer, redshirt freshman Kyle Pope, sophomore Benjamin Stroh, junior Jace Jensen and senior Robert Stroh received commendations for maintaining a GPA of 3.0 or better, while senior Brandon Richardson, junior Tanner Harms and redshirt freshman Luke Paine earned the honor for keeping a GPA of 3.5 or better throughout the year.

Sophomore Gunnar Woodburn garnered the Academic Hustle award for going above and beyond in his academic pursuits.