Eight Cowboys Selected for League Academic Honors

June 2, 2015

OREM, Utah -

A great year in the classroom was capped off for eight University of Wyoming wrestlers, as they were selected to two academic teams recognized Tuesday by the Western Wrestling Conference.

The WWC released its annual All-Academic squad which featured three Cowboys, along with five Wyoming grapplers who appear on the WWC Coaches' Honor Roll. Senior Leland Pfeifer, junior Tanner Harms and redshirt freshman Luke Paine were three of the 31 All-Academic selections. Redshirt freshman Kyle Pope, senior Brandon Richardson, sophomore Benjamin Stroh, senior Robert Stroh and junior Brandon Tribble joined 35 other league wrestlers on the Coaches' Honor Roll.

Both Harms and Pfeifer made their third appearance on the All-Academic team, as Paine made his first after earning Coaches' Honor Roll accolades last season. Robert Stroh earned Coaches' Honor Roll honors for the fourth time in his career followed by Richardson and Benjamin Stroh for the third time in their career with the Pokes. Pope earned the honor for the second time in his career with Tribble earning his first honor from the conference.

For the All-Academic team, student-athletes had to secure a minimum 3.20 cumulative grade-point average and be a starter or key reserve. The Coaches' Honor Roll recognizes all student-athletes who maintained a 3.0 cumulative GPA. This year's academic awards honored 71 student-athletes from the six conference schools for their work in the classroom.

The Western Wrestling Conference is comprised of six schools including the Air Force Academy, North Dakota State, Northern Colorado, South Dakota State, Utah Valley and Wyoming.